We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head for the roof top terrace”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #43 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: R 90 - R 220
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: So... Here is looking at you kid." Walking into Rick's Café Américain has the same feeling as walking into a friend’s home for dinner. We are situated in the heart of cosmopolitan Cape Town on Kloof Street in a charming 135-year-old Victorian building, decorated in a style reminiscent of the 1942 movie classic “Casablanca” … The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global Tapas and a wide variety of dishes ranging from mouthwatering Salads, Gourmet Burgers, fresh Seafood, mature Prime Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean Specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the Balcony, sipping sundowners on the roof terrace or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical buildings restaurant, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again.”
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Fantastic meeting spot at sunset, with Table Mountain as a backdrop. Their list of cocktails is impressive and made better by happy-hour specials. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Marika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Shocking service! Half the food of the table came and portions were inconsistent. Plus attitude from waiters!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank AndersonDaniel0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2021

An amazing relaxed atmosphere with rooftop views of Table Mountain. Food was excellent absolutely divine... Omg a lamb shank to die for!!! Our waitor JP is the friendliest and most helpful waitor ever, he's suggestions are superb. Definitely a place I would visit again.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank RhanzeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2021

I absolutely LOVE the new look and feel of this fabulous restaurant! Great service, very yummy and tasty Middle Eastern Salad! Gosh! It was absolutely delicious - I literally cleaned my plate :-) Staff are wonderful, friendly and all Covid Protocols in place! We sat upstairs and had the most beautiful view of the majestic Table Mountain and of course Cape Town weather was just perfect! Bravo to all and thank you for a lovely vibe with delicious food! Your attention to detail in the decor is absolutely superb! Loved every moment there and will definitely be back!!!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Debsjoy2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

Dear Debsjoy2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our restaurant.
We are looking forward welcoming you soon again
kind regards Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021

We had a 21st birthday celebration on the rooftop at Rick's last night. The food was excellent, the venue is spectacular, and perfect for safe but very special gatherings in COVID time. The staff were amazing and really went the extra mile to make the evening relaxed and highly enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2021

apr210962
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of our restaurant.
It was our pleasure to host your daughters 21st birthday.
We are looking forward welcoming you soon again
kind regards Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.