We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Hamburger or traditional morocco style”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #57 of 1 252 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Friends with different taste. All of us very satisfied. We tried fish, crocodile, moules, lamb and even desert. Every dish was perfectly cooked. Nice and fast service.

1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Martin
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
I will share your kind review with the service as well with the kitchen staff.
Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.
kind regards
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Had the most amazing tapa platter here! Piles of flavour and the waiters are legends!! Make sure to book. We were lucky to get a table.

1  Thank Mands101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Mands101
Thank you very much for taking the time writing a review on Trip advisor.
Your comments on the quality of the tapas platter and service is most gratifying and was shared with the Kitchen and service staff. Looking forward welcoming you soon again.
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Called in the early evening as we fancied a cocktail on the way home. Sat in the comfortable bar area on Moroccan style seats. Great choice of cocktails and very cheap during happy hour. Recommend the pineapple and passion fruit mojito. Feeling a bit peckish thought we would have some tapas to munch. Ordered three lots. Be warned these are South African portions not Spanish. Enormous. Two dishes plenty for two people but all very good particularly the chicken livers in a sauce with crunchy bread. Nice atmosphere and good for early evening light supper.

Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear mabel98
Thank you very much for taking the time writing such a great review on Trip advisor.
Your comments on the quality of the Cocktails and our food is most gratifying and was shared with the Kitchen and Bar staff. Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again..
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped for late lunchwasn’t disappointed. Super tasty food, amazing mojito & super slow service. I can’t imagine how bad it would be if it was busy ?
Hey what’s the hurry , we were on holiday.
I will return for more divine eats. Try the chicken livers..... to die for

2  Thank TheSmithsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear TheSmithsUK
Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Food.
Le me please apologize on behalf of our service staff, this is definitely not our usual service standard. I have used your review at our latest Staff Training, as an example how not to serve patrons.
Thank you so much for your understanding and patience.
All the best and looking forward welcoming you when you visit Cape Town again.
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The Tripadvisor reviews looked promising and Ricks didn't disappoint in any way. Ambiance aplenty, friendly attentive staff, a good choice of mains and the most extensive drinks menu that you're ever likely to see.
We had only a main course each - West coast mussels and duck tajine, both very pleasant without being outstanding. The tajine was a large serving, but it would probably be worth considering an entree when ordering the mussels as they were individually quite small.
Very reasonably priced, convenient location.
I'd certainly recommend it and would probably re-visit next time I'm in Cape Town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Leeanne
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
I will share your kind review with with the kitchen and service staff.
Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you soon again.
kind regards
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing