We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! ”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #48 of 1 144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Moroccan, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Century City, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We just walked in after reading about it on a list of the best Happy Hours in the city!!! They have an extensive menu for both food and drinks. The tapas are great and the cocktails were delicious. Also really loved the ambience. Our server Charlotte was great! Will definitely be back!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank kambeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear kambeezy
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It is always great to receive some kind words of appreciation, as it serves as a great motivational tool for the team. I have already congratulated Charlotte for a job well done. I hope we can welcome you soon again
kind regards Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    191
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were attracted by the advertisement of a rooftop bar but that turned out to be a disappointment. Not much of a view. But after a drink we ventured downstairs and had a great meal. The springbok tagine was very tasty and the cocktails great. Service was outstanding.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hols2go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear hols2go55
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Rick's Cafe on TripAdviser. We are sorry about the view from the deck, but when the Black South Easter blows, we have to close the drops sheets and this unfortunately cut's out the view.
We are so glad to hear that you still enjoyed your time at Rick’s Cafe. We try very hard to provide a truly unique dining experience to our guests.
I have already shared your comments about the food with the kitchen, its always nice to get a notice of appreciation.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Rick’s Cafe in the near future.
Have a great day
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAO PAULO
Level Contributor
263 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A place where you can be amongst locals. Nice food. Delicious hot spicy lamb, tough a bit too hot to air with wine. Good wine list. The only drawback is that there're far too many tables. Wonderful atmosphere.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank MARIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Maria C
Thank you for choosing our Restaurant, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rick’s cafe. We look forward to welcoming you again at Rick’s Cafe in the near future.
Kind regards Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
209 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Found this on tripadvisor and agree with the reviews.
Food is delicious, prices are reasonable, service is great and a great beer menu.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
It is always great to receive some kind words of appreciation, as it serves as a great motivational tool for the team. I hope we can welcome you soon again
kind regards
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stumbled onto this place and were very glad we did. The premise is very enticing, and it is well executed without being overdone. There are numerous areas to the restaurant, making for large capacity but maintaining coziness. The menu is varied, and the items we had were delicious and presented well. The smoked crocodile, springbok tajine, burgers and desserts that our party ordered were all amazing.

Our waiter seemed to perhaps be new or having an off day. He was polite and answered questions about the menu, but he did not engage in any conversation or smile. Service was very slow (we never saw him hurry), and the appetizer took a long time to arrive. A bit later, he asked if we were ready for our entrées, but it was about 20 minutes more before they came out. In all, we spent nearly two hours there without really lingering. I'm rating the service accordingly, but I'm giving the restaurant the benefit of the doubt that this was some sort of fluke, so I am not factoring it into the overall rating.

I will happily go back to Rick's again, and I suspect that I'll find the service closer in quality to the rest of the experience.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytummy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear happytummy850
Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Food.
Le me please apologize on behalf of my waiter, this is definitely not our usual service standard. I have used your review at our latest Staff Training, as an example how not to serve patrons.
Thank you so much for your understanding and patience.
All the best and looking forward welcoming you when you visit Cape Town again.
Per & Rick's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing