We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Play it again..”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #50 of 1 142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Moroccan, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Play it again..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Walked down from Table Mountain around noon and passed this place in a shady side street. Realised we were a bit hungry and not a little thirsty so agreed to give it a try.

Took a table outside and walloped a quick lager before agreeing to try the 'specials'.. I had the fish cakes and the boss plumped for a Middle East salad which was a little bohemian for her.

Waiter seemed a little austere at first but I think it was his act as he soon warmed up with a smirk or two.

The food was delicious but the real treasure was to be found inside. Being of a certain vintage, I needed to find the 'gentlemans' and was pleasantly amazed by the indoor bar and eating area.. not to say the spotless toilets!

Spent a lovely couple of bohemian hours in Ricks.. bet it's a bit of fun at night as well.. Try it..

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 17 March 2017
Dear Mike F
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your time and food at Rick's and hope to be able to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    191
    49
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good restaurant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Our first evening in Cape Town and this restaurant was booked for us by our hotel. Lovely food and wine, we ate Kingclip and chicken tagine. The only negative thing I would say is that the tagine dish stated that it was made with strips of chicken when in fact it was half a chicken with a lot of bone which my husband wouldn't have chosen if he had known. All that said, it was apparently very tasty and the Kingclip dish was wonderful.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Dear Caroline T
Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Food
Let me apologize for the misunderstanding about the Chicken Tajine. It says in the Menu Chicken pieces as at is 1/2 a chicken per portion and cut into pieces. Unfortunately when we would use chicken strips fillets only, the Tajine could not be cooked long enough to get all the flavor as needed. But I will make sure that I have it stated on our new menu that the chicken is still on its bones.
All the best and looking forward welcoming you when you visit Cape Town again.
Per & Rick's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017

Visiting Ricks for the first time was really amazing, there will be a next time.

The food and service was great!!
The Burgers was OMW value for money.
I will definitely recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Thank you for the great experience !!

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chanellelorenlee2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Dear chanellelorenlee2017
Thank you for choosing our Restaurant, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rick’s cafe. We try very hard to provide a truly unique dining experience to our guests, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again at Rick’s Cafe in the near future.
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smoking Inside Bar Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2017

We visited on a very busy February 25 th at 8:30 pm without a reservation, so hence the bar table which was fine.
Drinks and dinner arrived and we then realized everyone around us was smoking. We thought SA only allowed outdoor smoking or designated areas.
Our Springbok Tangene and house burger were excellent, but ruined by the smoke. Service was excellent however.
If you do not smoke, wait for a restarant table where we do not think smoking is allowed.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaroldandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Dear HaroldandSusan
Thanks for reviewing us on Trip adviser.
I read with dismay that you didn't have a great time at our Restaurant and decided to give us only an “average” rating.

But we are very happy that you rated the food and the service with excellent.

Unfortunately you did not make a reservation on this very busy Friday night and as the only table available was in our “designated smoking section” what is our also our Bar.
The Bar is strictly separated from all other areas of the restaurant (with glass partitions and a glass door, framed in old wood)
Our entire restaurant and upstairs lounge areas are strictly NON Smoking!
I do understand that you as a NON smoker do not approve with the present South African smoking Laws. The laws of the South African Health department are strictly adhered to at my restaurant. Until the Health department and parliament ratifies stricter smoking laws, we will continue to allow our smoking customers to light up at our enclosed Bar area, as many or our regulars are still followers of this nasty habit.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope you will try us again to have the real Rick’s Experience and hopefully you will realize that you gave us the unfortunate “average” rating in error!

Looking forward welcoming you again at Ricks
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Viby and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017

1st time with friends at Rick's Cafe. It was a beautiful Friday evening in Cape Town with no wind... We sat inside as the tables outside were full and then moved outside when a table became available, as it became too hot inside. The vibe and food were great! Just wish they had wall mounted fans inside and outside. It became unbearably hot.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheilameyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Dear Sheilameyer
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Rick's Cafe on TripAdviser.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Rick’s Cafe. We try very hard to provide a truly unique dining experience to our guests.
I have already shared your comments about the food with the kitchen, its always nice to get a notice of appreciation.
We have taken note of your displeasure of the heat on this evening, unfortunately we are not allowed to put Fans onto the historical facade of our building. (and they would not be there very long either...) .
We look forward to welcoming you again at Rick’s Cafe in the near future.
Have a great day
Per & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing