We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, drinks and atmosphere”

Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #43 of 1 173 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Reviewed 6 February 2017

As many others have said, this is a great restaurant in an eclectically furnished old mansion. We started with drinks on the rooftop, which was pleasant although it was rather windy and we went downstairs for dinner. Huge portions and very nicely prepared, tasty food. The burgers were outstanding, as was the daily special of tenderloin of beef with mushroom risotto. Perfectly cooked beef and super-tasty risotto.

Friendly staff, great character and ambiance and all-round good place. Only 2 minor criticisms: the kitchen closed an hour earlier than scheduled so we almost missed being able to dine and the taxi which the hotel had ordered never showed up, so we took an Uber instead. Great bar / restaurant though and can only recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Savvy_ Dave
Thank you so much for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Food (Beef fillet specials and our burgers) and that you appreciated the friendly service. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team.
Let me apologize for closing the kitchen an hour earlier than usual but we had the "Kitchen-extraction-cleaning-brigade" doing their monthly night cleaning, but we are glad that you could still order some food.
All the best and looking forward welcoming you when you visit Cape Town again.
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
There are newer reviews for Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

1st time visit and it won't be the last. Great selection of beers & wine.
Great service and with a large group the food was on time. The food is great , Burgers and Steaks were awesome. Wife had the fish which she said was the best ever. Tagines were too die for. Prices are not bad but not the cheapest but quality is worth it. Parking a problem as with all restaurants in the area.

Thank 619jedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear 619jedb
thank you so much for taking the time to review our Restaurant on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you did appreciate our great Beverage selection, as well that you, your wife and your friends enjoyed the food from Burgers, Steaks to fish to Tajines.
Yes, unfortunately the parking may be a problem on some nights, therefore we always recommend to our customers to take an "Uber" or use the parking in the Lifestyle center.
We hopefully are able to welcome you soon again.
kind regards Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
63
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

The meals we had were great as was the atmosphere but the 'double' gins the waiter upsold us were definitely not doubles and it had loads of mint in it! Why would anyone put mint in gin and tonic? Also tried to charge for a bottle of wine when I only had a 250ml carafe. Wouldn't go again because so many restaurants as equally as good and don't try it on.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear..??
Thank you so much for your feedback. But we are very happy that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere of my restaurant.
Please can you be so kind and forward us the date of your dinner and maybe the name of the waiter or just a copy of your bill?? This would help us to identify the staff member involved to avoid a repeat of your experience. As “hard selling is not part of our training and Rick’s Café’s philosophy.
Been charged the bottle price for your 250ml carafe must have been a honest mistake. Also, when a double is ordered we do serve doubles and my Bar staff usually over pours and they do not under pour. We have a very high standard of food and service and get very seldom complaints, but when we made some mistake we are the first to apologize and try to rectify it there and then. Unfortunately, you did not alert the waiter nor the manager about your Gin Tonic as we could have changed your drink immediately. It is very unusual that my Bar staff would put Mint into a Gin Tonic, maybe cucumber but never Mint. We are serving more than 15 different Gin’s and Mint does not belong to any of them.
I’m very sorry that we could not satisfy your service expectations, we always try our best to please all of our customers, it's very sad when we fail with some guests. We hope to join us soon again to get the real Rick’s Café Experience
Kind regards
Per

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We go here every time we visit CT and the standards have never dropped. The portions are large but very tasty, the atmosphere is buzzy, we liked it so much we went twice!

1  Thank kate234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2017

Dear kate234
Thank you so much for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Food and service, and that you had a great time at Rick's Cafe. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team. All the best and looking forward welcoming you when you visit Cape Town again. Your Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Been here twice. Food tastes great and the staff is always nice, honest and helpful. Great vibe. If your in Cape Town for a short while it's a must to go to this place. Order some fish (west coast sole) or Tajines.

1  Thank Willem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Willem D
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had a great time at Rick's. We hope we can welcome you soon again.
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain - Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing