We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, good food, average waiter”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #40 of 1 207 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Great ambience in this bustling restaurant. Two families of four (kids 14 and 16) travelling. As busy as it was, our table for eight on the roof-top was made available very quickly. I had a falafel appetizer, one of my daughters had a hamburger, and my wife and second daughter shared a meal. Very good food, and a Very good local hefe weissen; thanks to the bartender for his recommendation. Waiter and his helper were slow, inattentive, and could use some training.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank staledale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time writing to Trip adviser.
It's is always a pleasure reading a great constructive review as it helps us to improve the “Rick’s” experience for everybody.
We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed the food and the local Weissbier.
I have to apologize for the inattentive service and I will make sure that this will be a point on the agenda at our next Waiter training.
I hope you accept our sincere apologies and hope you join us soon for dinner again.
Kind regards
Per & Team
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

We pop in on a whim in search for a spot to eat after a late shift, and what a pleasant find! I ordered the duck tajine and the better half had the popper burger. The tajine was a little tricky to eat with all the bones, but oh so flavourful. Service was speedy and friendly. Overall a great find. We'll try the mezze dishes next time we're in town.

Thank TishEls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016


Dear TishEs
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Rick's Cafe on trip Advisor.
It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoy your time at Rick's.
Your comments on the service and quality of food especially the Duck Tajine and the Popper Burger are most gratifying and will be shared with the kitchen and service team, as there is nothing more motivating than costumers who take the time to send a note of appreciation.
Per & Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Visited as part of a group of 10 on a rainy Saturday night. We were able to sit cosily upstairs on the deck despite the weather because the area was enclosed with weather proof blinds and there were plenty of heaters and blankets to go around to keep out the cold!

We took advantage of happy hour and ordered jugs of margaritas which was great.

The food was well priced and generously portioned. The Tapas were amazing, especially the kofta and bitterballen.

We also received excellent service from Teddy our waiter. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cindi691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Cindi
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared with the Bar, kitchen and service team. Thank you again and hopefully we see you again in the near future
Per and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Good food, nice staff, even though we did not make a reservation, we could me accomadated. The tajine is very nice.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared with the kitchen and service team. We are very happy that you enjoyed one of our Tagline. Thank you again and hopefully we see you again in the near future
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

It's not hard to find a burger joint in the area, but it's tougher to find one with vegan options. With a few alterations there are many, delicious vegan choices here (but, hit the burger). Rad service, cool vibe, rad old house type venue. We keep coming back.

Thank Dave_Meyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Rick's Cafe on trip Advisor.
It was certainly a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time at Rick's.
Your comments on the service and quality of food (especially our Vegetarian options) are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team, as there is nothing more motivating than costumers who take the time to send a note of appreciation.
Per & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing