We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tagine test”

Rick's Cafe Americain
Ranked #50 of 1 226 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Walking into Rick's Cafe has the same feeling as walking into a friend's home for dinner. The ambiance is comfortable to say the least with decor reminiscent of the movie classic "Casablanca" with its stylish colonial Moroccan tones accompanied by lounge music filtering through the 100 year old Victorian building,Immerse yourself in warm ambiance and eclectic decor in our 80 seater restaurant with its 3 fireplaces and bar, or enjoy the relaxed, vibey loft lounge and cocktail bar spilling out onto a roof deck with breathtaking views of the mountains.Our award winning selection of wines is sure to suit all tastes and features a wide selection by the carafe, we also offer a wide variety of local and imported Beers (now over 40!), Mexican and local Tequilas, Vodkas,Single Malts, Bourbons and Liquors. The menu presents a seasonal selection of Global tapas and a wide variety of dishesranging from mouth watering salads, Gourmet burgers, fresh seafood, matured Steaks and Moroccan and Mediterranean specialties - "we serve Comfort food" So come relax and enjoy yourself with either lunching on the veranda, sipping sundownerson the roof deck or enjoy a delicious meal inside this historical cottage, and we will guarantee you'll want to "play it again" We all look for that place to recommend as being "my favourite place", well in this case you might just have found it."So... Here is looking at you kid."
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Although their dishes are not cooked in Tagines - was a little disappointing to hear, the lamb tagine was excellent, great use of morrocan spices, good meat texture and we'll balanced with perfectly cooked vegetables - carrot, slightly tart beetroot, touch of tomato, walnuts gave good texture but lacked flavour themselves. Good meat and source consistency and although a touch pricey, worthy of recommendation. Well done 9/10.

Thank 481OliverC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed the Tajines at Rick's Cafe. We are proud on using only the best ingredients and spices (ras el hanout) possible to get the traditional Moroccan flavor. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the Kitchen team. All the best and see you soon again!
Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a drink and dinner
Good beer selection.
Had tapas and a smoked pork neck burger.
The staff were really friendly.
Food was good
Would I do it again .... oh yeah!!

1  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of Rick's Cafe on trip Advisor.
It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoy your time at Rick's.
Your comments on the service and quality of food are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team, as there is nothing more motivating than costumers who take the time to send a note of appreciation. Hope to see you soon again.
Rick's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

We made a reservation at Rick's Cafe Americain and when we arrived I was very unimpressed that they had seated us in the smoking section. When I complained to the manager he suggested it was our fault for not specifying non-smoking. With the Tobacco Products Control Amendment Act and the special designated areas for smoking one would think that you would have to be specific if you wanted to be placed in a smoking section. Not so at Rick's where they take it upon themselves to make decisions that affect your health.

The only saving grace was the hostess Antoinette who was apologetic and tried her best to find us another table but to no avail. Unfortunately the experience left a bitter taste in the mouth after being schooled on the 'right' way to make a restaurant reservation.

Thank Diavel1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016


Dear Diavel1199
Thank you for taking the time writing to Trip adviser. We always appreciate constructive criticism from our customers as it helps us to improve the “Rick’s” experience for everybody.
You called us late Saturday afternoon to reserve a table for the same evening for dinner, we were at this point already fully booked but my manageress made some plan to accommodate you on the roof terrace.
We usually ask our clientele if they like to sit in smoking or non-smoking but in your case there was no space in either, and my manageress juggled some tables to free you some space, to do you a favor!
The roof terrace is an open area; therefore smoking is by Law permitted.
I do understand that you as a NON smoker do not approve with our smoking policy, but the entire restaurant, plus our Lounge and the covered outside seating are strict non-smoking, which is considerable more than 75% of all tables and seats – that’s the seat ratio as prescribed by the local Health department. Our Bar and all outside areas are been clearly marked as smoking areas. We are confirm to the South African Health regulations as the entrance to the restaurant is in the non-smoking section as is the way to the bathrooms and the restaurant and bar’s separated by a Glass partition and a Glass door, the prescribed smoking areas of my establishment.
The present smoking laws of the South African Health department are strictly adhered to at my restaurant. Until the Health department and parliament ratifies stricter smoking laws, we will continue to allow our smoking customers to light up at our designated smoking areas like our Bar and roof terrace as many or our regulars are still followers of this nasty habit.
All I can do is apologize for your disappointing experience
We hope you accept our apologies and join us soon for dinner
Kind regards
Per Menko
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Was looking foward having dinner here after a recommendation. Anyway-the cocktails are seriously good-the place certainly has a lively vibe-but somewhat of an identity crisis...Unfortunately table and seating space is extremely cramped-so when I was told that 2 more people would be squashed next to our table-we just paid and left-...and had a great evening at another nearby restaurant.

Thank jacques c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for writing a review on Trip advisor. We always appreciate constructive criticism from our customers as it helps us to improve the “Rick’s” experience for everybody.
But with all respect your reasoning does escapes us, we have no idea where we supposed to have an Identity crises and why you did say that?
Regarding the space: You and your male dining partner were seated on a table for 4 people (with 4 chairs and 4 dinner settings and the table has a width of 1,2 meter!) we did seat people on the table next to you, which table is approx. 50cm away from your table. We are not a “Fine Dining restaurant” and unfortunately we have to make use of our space and keeping 2 meter space between tables would be impossible in economic terms. We are a very popular and busy restaurant and our valued clientele enjoys the atmosphere and the coziness of it, we never had any complaints about the layout of our restaurant before.
It makes us very happy that you did like our Cocktails. But we are very sad that you decided to leave before could taste any of our great food. We hope to welcome you soon again for you to have a better Rick's cafe Americain experience.
Kind regards
Per & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Our hotel made a reservation for us at Rick's and provided re-confirmation as well, but when we arrived at the restaurant, they said they could not find our reservation and would have to seat us outside. The whole time we were there, they did not seat anyone else outside, while they kept seating people inside. When I asked if we could sit inside where there were many empty tables, the receptionist insisted we sit outside. Outside, they allow smokers, which made dinner unpleasant and made us want to leave as soon as possible after finishing our meal - not fun.

The food portions were big, but this did not make up for the poor experience.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanZlovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
percapetown, Owner at Rick's Cafe Americain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016


Dear Janice D
Thanks for reviewing us on Trip adviser. I read with dismay that you didn't have a good time at our Restaurant and decided to give us a “terrible” rating. We always try our best to please all of our customers, it's very sad when we fail with some guests.

Unfortunately we did not find your reservation on this busy Friday evening, this may happened due to human error on our, or the Hotel’s side. As you wrote some tables inside were empty, and yes they are kept empty when reserved for a specific time on the evening. This was unfortunately not communicated to you and I believe this situation could have been handled better from our side. I’m very sorry about that.

Regarding people lighting up their cigarettes outside, I do understand that you as a NON smoker do not approve with South African smoking Laws, The present smoking laws of the South African Health department are strictly adhered to at my restaurant. Until the Health department and parliament ratifies stricter smoking laws, (as in New York or Australia) we will continue to allow our smoking customers to light up at our outside area as many or our regulars are still followers of this nasty habit.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope you will try us again to have the real Rick’s Experience and hopefully you will realize that you gave us the unfortunate “terrible” rating in error!
Looking forward welcoming you again at Ricks
Per Menko
Owner





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Cafe Americain also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rick's Cafe Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing