We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but needs work.”

Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Ranked #99 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Rooms were clean and lovely but during one of the nights we woke up to a loud sound. I was so sacred. Turns out there was an issue with the aircons. I loved the fact the food lovers market was next door , we ate divine but cheap sushi for Africa. There was also a pasta bar , salad bar etc. We rented dvds but we had a problem with our DVD player and none of the technicians could solve the problem so eventually we returned the DVD's without watching.

All in all I would not really go there again .. it had a really cold feel.

Dec 2014'

Stayed: December 2016
Thank MusTy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

The hotel is a walking distance to the Convention centre where the jazz festival is held. On the ground floor is the food court. The rooms are nice and clean. I can recommend anyone to go there. And the hotel is also not far from the city centre where u can do your shopping and along the street there are several places where you can relax whenever feeling like going out.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Dinkwetse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I picked up a great deal on booking.com for the penthouse suite. Honestly I did not expect much due to the mixed reviews. We arrived early and our room was not ready. We then left our bags and asked if they'd take it up when the room was ready. They said yes but never did.

After doing the hop on hop off tour for most of the day we returned to the hotel quite late. The doors were locked from the parking area and we ended up having to take the fire exit to get to reception.

Got the keys and was escorted up but the front desk guy. The apartment was a three bed two bath, with lounge and dining area. It also had an open plan kitchen, full scullery with all appliances and a nice sized balcony with great views over the harbor. I saw a did and dEcoder but we didn't use any of it. The furnishings were modern.

Not all the crockery was present though, but we didn't ask for anything as it was just one night. Great bedding and beds. All rooms have air on except the third bedroom. This bedroom also faces the internal walkway which was noisy but we were bushed and heard very little.

Parking was spacious enough for a grand voyager jeep. The shops in the atrium was also convenient, especially the fruit n veg. Great location and space for a family. The dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer will ensure even a long holiday is relaxing.

Room Tip: Penthouse was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

This hotel is 4 star rated but in my opinion its not more than 3.The rooms are basic but more than adequate for holiday purposes .There is an excellent view of table top mountain and the street below .There is an excellent power shower, the beds are comfortable and would appear to be changed daily. The biggest fault is that the cleaning of the room could be more thorough. It is very noisey from around 9pm until around 4am coming from the bar next door and the club across the street. There is an EXCELLENT HELPFUL RECEPTIONIST CALLED RINA and was in the process of training a lovely young lady called LAUREN who I have no doubt will be equally as good, these girls go out of their way to make sure you are properly taken care of. Coca is the barman who is most friendly and coperative.I found all the staff very friendly and welcoming and all willing to help. Thank you one and all.

Room Tip: We had a double room to the front on the 5th floor, nice view of table top mountain. There is an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent two weeks at this hotel, me, my wife and our 1 year daughter. The apartment was big enough for the baby, has a well equipped kitchen and nice bed. The window's view was GREAT, was possible seeing the Table Mountain. The employees were fine, and helpful. The pool was closed during all my stay. There was no breakfast, but, in the, ground floor, we could find food easily in a food marked. The problems, the inside balcony are very dangerous for kids, they can be easily climbed. The automatic revolving door in the main entrance can cause serious imjuries to walking babies.
The hotel is very closed (by foot) to Convention Center and 5 minutes (by car) from the Water Front (50 Rands).

Room Tip: Choose room with a view to the Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltangari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,3 km away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#56 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
0,2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
0,6 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,1 km away
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Cast...
#88 of 112 in Cape Town Central
226 reviews
3,8 km away
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
#107 of 112 in Cape Town Central
89 reviews
0,4 km away
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl
#71 of 112 in Cape Town Central
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hip Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hip Icon Hotel

Address: Corner of Lower Long Street and Hans Strydom | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 022 - R 2 276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hip Icon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing