We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very surprised by the poor quality of service at this Hilton property.I have been a member of the Hilton Honors for many years and expected a much better experience.
Price was extremely high for the quality of this hotel.It should never be marketed as a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank cn2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanelesibonge N, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear cn2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered and we’re working with our team to ensure the situations don’t happen again.

If you return to Cape Town, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting Hilton Cape Town this year as we have done many times in the last ten years. This year we were really positive as the lounge was renovated and moved to the floor that was dedicated for the indian restaurant.
Opening hours for drinks and canapes are 17.30 - 19.30, but during this two hours drinks and food wasn't avaiable for every one. There was a shotage of plates, cutlery, glasses, drinks and food. I suppose the management doesen't really care for guest with access to executive lounge! We don't accept this and compare Hilton Cape Town to many other Hilton Hotels in Africa, Asia and Europe. Please change and put guests first!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank christefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanelesibonge N, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear christefan1,

We appreciate your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience with our Executive Lounge. This is not the level of service we wish to provide to our guests. Your feedback will give our Executive Management Team for their efforts in improving our service delivery.

If your travels bring you back to Cape Town, we hope to see you again and Make it Right.

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hilton, Cape Town City Centre is very conveniently located near the Hop-On-Hop-Off travel centre on Long Street. Our room was very well laid out, clean, modern and well-maintained. Staff were friendly, the breakfast was good with a wide selection of food (I especially recommend the fruit juices which were excellent.) You get the feeling that each guest is welcomed as an individual. The only area where I think there could be some improvement is at reception. When I tried to break a large note into smaller denominations so that I could tip the staff, I was told that they did not give change and I was asked to go to the shop across the street to get change. This meant that the driver of the shuttle who took us to the V & A Waterfront was tipped less than we had intended. What a shame. Generally, however, the stay was excellent and the people we met were outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Essie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanelesibonge N, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Essie2211,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a 5 star review regarding your recent stay with us!

It sounds as if between the central location, flavourful breakfast and the our friendly team members your trip went exactly as planned!

We would also like to apologise about the not so great experience you had with the Front Desk, your feedback will give our Executive Management Team guidelines for their efforts in improving this.

We can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was VERY clean offered an incredible view of Table Mountain. It's a great value for diamond status members. Great service and attention. The hotel is within walking distance to one of the City Sightseeing Tours offices and the Malay Quarters. It's a great location with great views and service.

Room Tip: Best views, quiet but at the center of where things are happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vibha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanelesibonge N, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vibha S,

Thank you for making Hilton Cape Town City Centre your hotel of choice and for sharing your experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, stunning views and central location.

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi. I stayed at the Hilton hotel in cape town. Very nice experience. Besides for some personal things that i would have liked changed( like toilet roll holder is very low, tv volume not that loud) i had a super time. Very clean place, friendly staff, and an overall comfort experience

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank imtiyaazs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanelesibonge N, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear imtiyaazs2017,

Thanks for letting us know of your recent stay. From the rooms to location, we're happy to hear of your experience and can't wait to welcome you back soon despite the above mentioned personal issues..

Best regards,
Victor Chalfoun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,5 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 843 reviews
2,5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 820 reviews
0,5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,1 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 806 reviews
1,1 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 320 reviews
1,5 km away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#46 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R1 639 - R5 701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing