We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #42 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed here for ten nights, they offered a free transfer to and from the V&A waterfront every day on the hour, the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly if they tried, in the bar by the pool Yummy, Li ann and the staff were always very friendly, I find it very hard to fault this place, but I did miss sausages and bacon for breakfast lol, the internet in the room can be a bit slow, but works really well in the lobby or use the computers on the mezzanine floor,
Rooms were spacious and very clean, the food is of a high standard,
The hotel is very central, and easy to get about, the trendy Long Street is only three blocks away and the Butchers Grill is across the road, the concierge will organise sight seeing tours, we found the Red bus sightseeing tour a must,
Our holiday was almost perfect but on the day we left we got a cab to pick us up to take us to the airport, he was there on time, then took us to the petrol station for fuel and tyres checked ( why he couldn't do this before he picked us up I don't know) he took us to the airport and when we asked "how much" he ripped us off to the tune of r400 (£18 approx ) it was only r270 going the other way,
A word of warning about UNICABS insist on them putting the meter on or negotiate a fare first,
But that had nothing to do with hotel, that was faultless, well done Hilton keep it up

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulhamfcboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

It is such a pleasure to learn that you were welcomed by our friendly and helpful staff with the warmth and hospitality they are renowned for.

It's great to read that you enjoyed the clean and spacious rooms and our central location to the trendy long street. I'm happy to know that our concierge team could assist you in the planning of tours and other activities throughout your stay.

Your positive comments are highly appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Mother City soon.

Thank you for your recommending Hilton Cape Town City Centre to the rest of the Trip Advisor community.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 457 of 1 406 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

Yes we found the hotel to be well positioned near town V & A AND TABLE MOUNTAIN. nICE AND CLEAN BIG ROOMS WITH A VERY LARGE BATHROOM Hotel also offers a courtesy car but you have to pay. You can also walk near to loog st which is great at nights and lots of coffee shop which also offer breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank RAKESH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel centrally located and in close proximity to long street and other coffee shops. It's a pleasure to learn that you found our accommodation nice, clean and spacious.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the Mother City.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

It was a great stay with great value of money. I was in Cape Town for a business trip and for me the most important thing for me was the internet and the bed. The internet was reliable and fast, and the bed was very comfy. Definitely I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on Trip Advisor, your feedback is important to us.

I'm delighted to read that we could meet your expectation regarding the internet and reliability therefore. We glad to know that you were comfortable throughout your stay.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Hotel is extremely well kept, very impressed with cleanliness of the rooms. Hotel décor is very attractive, and location is great.
Hotel food is great, good variety and excellent quality. Executive lounge had a good spread for evening snacks and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Murad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review in Trip Advisor.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed the cleanliness if the rooms, the décor and the central location. Your positive comments regarding the selection of quality and variety of food during breakfast and in the Executive Lounge is highly appreciated.

Your feedback is valued and I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mother City.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

I will try to be factual. We read reviews about noise and made sure the Minstrels parade was over before booking and also at check in as we had a busy schedule next day. We moved room once before spending the night as we could hear traffic outside and revving of engines . Shortly after midnight we were woken up by musical instruments and band procession that kept going till 3.30 am on 31st Jan. Ear plugs made no difference . We contacted the night manager and he assured us that it was unplanned and said it was a celebration after a football match. This completely ruined our next day activities after sleeping just a few hours. We received no formal acknowledgement of this noise issue from the management , no formal apology next day , no amenities to compensate for inconvenience. As it nothing happened. On a positive note I found that the staff of the hotel is very friendly and genuine however I can't say it is led by strong intuitive management . Receptionist called Martin and guest relations manager Brian were very helpful with the room move. Breakfast Restaurant staff are very nice indeed and genuinely friendly. This hotel is located centrally with easy access to museums , a free shuttle to V&A waterfront area as well as downtown area. Hotel itself is very modern, well maintained with a lovely breakfast. Rooms are equipped with a safe deposit box as well as tea/coffee making facilities. Wifi is available free but is quite slow. We are now staying in pool facing room and it is quieter. Hotel also does not seem to have strong consistent standards (minibar in the first room had different items compared to the new room we moved to even though it was of the same type , first room had one bathrobe and new one has two , water bottle appeared on a third day of our stay ( not even sure if it is a complimentary one or they charge for it ). Little things that should be streamlined in a branded hotel . So no, I won't be booking again . Rather pay for a nice modern apartment away from noise. It would be a more comfortable and less expensive alternative next time .

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the noise level in the room due to the Cape Minstrel Carnival. This is a tradition in the City of Cape Town and we have no influence on these traditions. We respect the culture of Cape Town and those carnival parades do happen at last minute without prior notice. This musical celebration takes place between the period of December and March every year and is an initiative of the City Of Cape Town local authorities.

Your positive comments regarding our team members and our property are greatly appreciated and I have shared them with my team. I'm happy to read you enjoyed the breakfast selection and the complimentary shuttle to the Waterfront.

We do hope that despite certain unfortunate experiences, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to redeem your services in the near future.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,5 km away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 862 reviews
2,5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 853 reviews
1,1 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#48 of 112 in Cape Town Central
859 reviews
0,3 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 353 reviews
1,1 km away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 552 - R 5 472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing