We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View, Delicious Food and Great Service”
Review of Meloncino

Meloncino
Ranked #42 of 1 185 Restaurants in Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria Italiano. Experience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape Town. Meloncino Restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish decor creates an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapes, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Reviewed 9 September 2014

I have had lunch, dinner and sometimes just popped in for coffee, for a romantic dinner, lunch with friends or a family meal at Meloncino. The restaurant is great anytime of year.The staff have always been helpful, the meals were delicious, the view absolutely stunning. The meals are reasonably priced, the pizza's are delicious and the pizza bases are made from the most delicious tasting flour. The Lavazza coffees are great and the cocktails are absolutely refreshing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANishLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1 073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 498 of 1 073 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Meloncino is a beautiful restaurant, but what works wonders is the amazing view. If weather permits, grab a seat outside and order a glass of wine and take in the beautiful view. I am not a lover of pizza at all, but the Meloncino Freddo Pizza is really good. The hand cut steak with rocket, cherry tomato and Parmesan remains my favourite. Save some space for the 'Torta strepitosa'!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eat_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Eat_Global

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor. Our signature pizza is one of our best sellers as well as our sliced steak you ate. I am so pleased you had a lovely experience at Meloncino and we look forward in seeing you on your next visit.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a great momment at Meloncino with a large selection and options of Italian Cuisine. Definately recommend friends to try it

Thank Victorychauffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Victorychauffeur

Thank you for joining us at Meloncino. We pride ourselves on being the best Italian. Thank you for the local support and we hope to see you in summer for cocktails and authentic Italian cuisine.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Had a nice dinner outdoors here under one of the heat lamps. They have blankets as well. The menu was quite extensive with lots of Italian basics. Service was friendly, but the kitchen was slow - we were starting to wonder if our entrees would ever appear. Food was good, but nothing special.

Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Stephanie S

Thank you for expressing your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and will look into the matter. We pride ourselves on great service and we didnt deliver. I will personally look into the matter. Never the less I am happy to hear you enjoyed your meals once they finally arrived. Thank you once again for the constructive criticism and I do hope you consider us again to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

You should totally go here their food is to die for love their food. Go here. I would totally recommend going here they have quality food that you will enjoy and also love the view. I would go here again.

Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Natasha H

Thank you for visiting Meloncino on your trip to Cape Town. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our lovely food, great service and amazing view! We look forward in hosting you and your recommended guests on their visit to Cape Town. Grazie!

Kind regards
Paolo Carrara
Co-owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meloncino also viewed

 
Cape Town, Cape Town
Cape Town, Cape Town
 

Been to Meloncino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing