We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
What an incredible stay!

I had been waiting for the moment intraprovincial travel was allowed again during the COVID... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2020
Tammy_tamzCT
Trip to the Wilderness area of Knysna and Tanqua Karoo.

Excellent knowledge and preparation meant that every target species of bird was seen. Knowledge of... read more

Reviewed 5 November 2015
Nicola H
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent a day birding the west coast with Avian Leisure's Patrick Caldwell. What a wonderful day we had. Saw over 60 species of birds, visited a small vineyard and had a delicious Malay lunch. Patrick is truly "The Cape Naturalist". He was most accommodating and informative. We booked the tour on the internet before we left.

Date of experience: December 2013
1  Thank babs2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Avian Leisure for a week in October of 2009 and really enjoyed the apartment and experience of birding with Patrick. Where else can you set and have coffee in bed and watch the Souther Right Whales off the coast. The apartment was large and lovely. We used it as a base to travel to the cape, Cape town and the wine country. We also did a day birding with Patrick who not only located a number of birds but took us to locations we would never had known. Both Patrick and Mary Louise were great at giving directions and suggestions at what to see and where to eat. Both were gracious and great hosts. Would recommend them for accomodations and guiding.

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank Dot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at Avian Leisure self catering apartment 8 years ago and we loved the location. This time we stayed at Watsonia. Even though there are no ocean views we had access to the garden and Patrick refilled the bird feeder to ensure we had lots of birds visiting. The apartment is very well appointed and very comfortable. There are electric towel wraps and all kinds of utensils, pots and pans, plates etc. Everything you may need to prepare your meals or just to have a simple breakfast or snack is available. I loved the electric blankets on the beds for those cool nights. A great selection of books and lots of travel guides and information about the area are also available at the apartment.

We got to see the visiting porcupine in the evening. They come for the water in the garden pond and they also get some food from our hosts. The garden is beautiful and it is all landscaped wit native plants. You can see quite a few birds at their feeder and around the garden.

On our last day Patrick gave us all kind of advise on good places to stay at or visit on our trip north to Namibia and Botswana.

This is a great place in a great location with magnificent views of the ocean and impressive mountains behind the house. Very nice and helpful hosts. We enjoyed our second stay at Avian leisure and we would return if visiting the area again.

Date of experience: November 2013
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed two days of guided birding with Patrick as part of a Southern Africa tour put together by Avian Leisure. Despite inclement weather, Patrick cheerfully and expertly guided us through botanical gardens and wildlife refuges showing us an incredible array of flora and fauna. My wife is a less intense birder but thoroughly enjoyed our days with Patrick and his balanced approach to guiding.
Together with Marie-Louise, he helped plan our amazing three week tour of the Western Cape, Kruger, Vic Falls and the Chobe. The trip was flawless, planned to the finest detail and exceeded our expectations at every turn. One of our best travel experiences ever. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Bubo_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2013

During September 2013 a group of 6 friends were taken on a trip to view the amazing spring flowers and birds of the west coast of South Africa near Cape Town. The whole experience was superb with excellent planning and management. I would have no hesitation in high recommending Patrick as a very caring and capable tour leader with an extensive knowledge of the countryside and its people.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews