We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
42
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house cold meats table mountain home away from home yogurt other guests balconies
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Aina, the owner of the Orange Guesthouse, was extremely friendly and helpful during our 6 night stay in Feb 2017. We contacted her before stay and she was quick to reply to any questions we had and arranged our transfer from the airport - one less thing to think about.

We had a bright spacious room decorated in a fashionable shabby chic style, which had a balcony with glorious views of nearby Table Mountain. The room had an en-suite shower room, plenty of space for clothes and other bits and pieces, a fridge, safe, hair-drier, TV, phone and Tea/Coffee making facilities. There were also 2 bathrobes provided. All rooms have an outside area, balcony or patio.

Continental Breakfast was served at a time convenient to you including, cereal, yogurt, fruit, cold meats, cheese, eggs and toast. No other meals were served.
There was no manned bar, but there was an honesty bar in the communal lounge where you were able to have a bottle of red and white wine, gin, vodka, whiskey, mixers and soft drinks. Payment for these is shown in the book, just make a note of what you have had and any drinks should be paid for in cash on check-out.

The guesthouse is situated on the Table Mountain side of town - approx. 30 mins walk to the cable car base and approx. 1 hour walk to the Waterfront. Uber taxi to Waterfront cost us 80 rand, so not expensive.

I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has excellent views
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Lovely guest house, comfortable beds and spacious room (at least the one we had). Nice honesty bar with good variety of drink, breakfast is good and the host/owner (Aina) is very sweet. Location is good, close to Table Mountain and the City Centre.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Orange Guesthouse is a home away from home. It is not one of these sterile standard hotels, looking the same all over the world. It feels like entering a nice relaxing private home. Aina is charming and helpful, more like a friend than a hostess. We had a large ensuite room upstairs with balcony and fire-Place nicely decorated. If you are tired of standard hotels, you should definietely stay with Aina nest time.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The Orange Guest House was recommended by a friend and we found it to be very comfortable. It is located in a nice area under the slopes of Table Mountain with good access Kloof Street eateries, including Melissa’s Deli, and Shanghai restaurant. A short taxi ride took you to the base of Table Mtn to join the cable car queues. Definitely worth the journey to the top.

The owner and host, Aina was very quick to reply to any email prior to arriving, and was extremely helpful in booking our taxis, and with restaurant suggestions and reservations, while we were there.

We thought the Orange Guest House to be very much like staying in a friend’s house, it was homely, relaxed and felt very safe. The breakfast was a nice mix of continental and cooked. There was an honesty system re lounge areas if other drinks were required through the day or night.

We would recommend the Orange Guest House as a place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My husband booked 5 nights in the Orange Guesthouse for the first half of our honeymoon trip to South Africa - and it did not disappoint! Aina was unbelievably accommodating from the start, even handling some minor logistical difficulties that I had to deal with from hotels.com. We emailed several times about the trip, including her suggestions for things to do during our time in Cape Town. She offered to arrange transport to and from the airport (which was amazing after 24 hours of travel) and greeted us upon our late arrival. She was so welcoming and knowledgeable and it was so nice to see a friendly face after such a long trip. Her breakfasts all week have been to die for - she even tailored them to what we wanted on some days! She made countless recommendations for us during our week here, even booked us a tour at 11pm the night before we wanted to go, and did our laundry for us!! Our room was amazing, and included a great balcony with an unbelievable view of Table Mountain. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, this is probably not for you -- but if you want some local flair (with a Norwegian twist, as she is an expat) and unparalleled attentiveness, this is the place for you. I highly, highly recommend it and will totally come back if we return to Cape Town!!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennieMac0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews