We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Service Marriott-like Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I stayed at this Marriott purchased property on points and benefitted from a move to an upper floor and an outside view. I think the comments here are misleading on the inside facing rooms. If you are travelling for business or just a sleepover I’d have no issues staying in one.

Rooms are moderns and clean – you’ll have a bath as well as a shower and the toilet is enclosed in the shower area. People have complained about this as well in previous reviews and I’m not clear why. Your shower, bath and toilet are all in the same room and there is a door to separate.

There is a minibar that you must pay for, but you can move things around to store your own water and etc. The doormen were always on duty and nice. This is located right next door to the African Museum, and also next to a Yellow Line Red Bus stop so its’ convenient. Uber cost to V&W varied between $2-$4 (US).

This is a very nice spot – not maybe the most romantic or picturesque location, but americans will find the service and the set up similar to what you’re accustomed to in a full service hotel.

Tips: Ladies if you like or need hair conditioner you’re going to need to bring your own. Also, for those who may need to wash personal items, there is no drying string so you may want to pack/prepare for that.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KFerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Dear KFerg

It was a pleasure to have you as our GUEST at African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel.
We are pleased to read from your comments that you very much enjoyed your stay.
Your kind feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016

This is a really beautiful hotel with modern and chic interiors. What you see outside is definitely not what you get inside! Once you step inside, it's like a different world.

The room and bathroom was very spacious with all amenities. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Only negative for us was that our TV didn't work and it took two calls before somebody eventually came to fix the problem. Also, the plug in the bath did not seal properly causing the water to drain whilst wanting to have a nice bath. Also would have liked a balcony, which the hotel doesn't seem to have.

Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilIls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear WilIls,

Thank you for your favourable feedback that you shared with us on TripAdvisor.

It seems that you had an enjoyable stay and it is wonderful to hear that you were comfortable in your spacious room. We are sorry to hear about the challenges that you were faced with please accept our apologies, the Maintenance Manager will be sure to look into the matter.
We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Impressive modern hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant inside the hotel was also very good. The room was big and spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. I asked for an iron and it was brought up promptly. Would return, and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Justin T

Thank you so much your review and rating posted. Your kind feedback is highly appreciated and the TEAM will be very proud to learn that we have met your expectations.
Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Only one word to express this place. An extremely modern place with a great 5 star service to add. The hotel room is well decorated and spacious. In addition, the breakfast buffet is one the best I've seen across the world. I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Travis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Travis P,

What an amazing title and thank you for the ‘5 out of 5’ score on TripAdvisor..

It most certainly seems like you had a wonderful stay and that is what we aim to achieve for every GUEST.

Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to African Pride 15 on Orange hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel is a pleasant place well located in the city centre, with friendly staff.
Unfortunately, during our stay our room had a few issues that were really not necessary:-
*The shower didn't have a glass shelf for placing soaps.
*The shower door seal was poorly maintained, causing water to leak onto the bathroom floor leaving a slippery mess.
*The shower door didn't have a handle on the inside to enable proper closing when in the shower.

These issues show a lack of attention to detail at an otherwise pleasant hotel. The room service was efficient and on point.

Room Tip: Fairly well appointed rooms - ask for a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc-Dee-Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DouglasAllen, General Manager at African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear Danny Z

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us following your most recent stay at the African Pride 15 on Orange hotel. We appreciate your kind words about your room service experience.
We are sorry to hear about the bathroom challenges that you were faced with please accept our apologies, the Maintenance Manager will be sure to look into the matter.
We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Douglas Allen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#35 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 012 reviews
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wha...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
363 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#83 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 039 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel

Address: Corner of Grey's Pass & Orange Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 170 - R 4 306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel, Cape Town's icon of style, is set in the upmarket suburb of Gardens at the foot of Table Mountain. African Pride 15 on Orange Hotel offers an experience of sensual sophistication and style, combining distinctive architecture and exquisite luxury with the renowned first-class service of African Pride Hotels. This ideal location on the fringe of Cape Town's vibrant city centre ensures that GUESTS are within walking distance of the National Museum and the Planetarium. Get some fresh air - feel free to take a leisurely stroll through the nearby Company Gardens and embrace the green jewel in the heart of the metropolis. Welcome the holiday shopping bug and visit the selection of exclusive in-house retailer outlets while the world-class shopping paradise of the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront is merely minutes away. If time out is in order, enjoy a cup of tea or a fine whiskey in the eclectic Judges Lounge, where we pay homage to Cape Town’s auspicious legal fraternity. Whether staying indoors or setting out to explore the cape – African Pride 15 on Orange offers GUESTS the perfect luxury destination for business, pleasure or a bit of both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing