We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and authentic Greek!”
Review of Marika's

Marika's
Ranked #248 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We went on the late side on a Sunday night, so it was not too full, and everything we had was just delicious. The lamb gyro was to die for - the lamb was so tender and all of the flavors were just perfect, plus the bread was not too thick, so I was actually able to eat almost the whole thing, even though it was HUGE! My husband had the lamb baked in lemon and herbs and loved it - again, the lamb was falling off the bone it was so tender and juicy. The Greek salads served with the team were very fresh and tasty, except on top of the gyro I couldn't manage more than a few bites. We did, however, manage some room for dessert and I have to say the baklava was probably the best we've ever had. Slightly different than most bakalava, it was dripping with honey, and more like a cinnamon roll with filo dough, which I adored. Seriously delicious. This place is pretty unassuming and nothing fancy, but it's charming, the service was friendly, and the food was top notch. We were there on a chilly night, but clearly on a nice day you'd want to be on the patio with a stellar view of Table Mountain. I'd definitely come back for another gyro and some more baklava!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

Chose to eat a number of small menu items, in order to maximise my experience. Very tasty, excellent food! I shall visit Marika's again!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Merry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We often go to Marika's for dinner. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is cosy. In my opinion it's the best authentic Greek spot in Cape Town. Some recommendations: Treat yourself to the "secret ribs" that's not listed on the menu, and try the lamb giro!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Great food, warm welcome. The lamb neck and ribs literally fell off the bone! The food is hearty, tasty and served with a smile. It's our new local. Wine and beers decently priced. Overall a great experience.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Nicola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIKAS_RESTAURANT, Owner at Marika's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Hi Nicola

Thanks for the great review.
It is always nice to get a much needed pat on the back.

Best regards

Frank, Marika, Judy, Meeka and the Guys :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

We struggled to find a restaurant with space available for a family dinner, and settled by chance on Marika's, which is tucked away above the corner shops of Upper Buitenkant Street. The atmosphere was a pleasant surprise as it was buzzy and cosy without being too packed. It was a bit noisy due to acoustics in the room, but this somehow added to its charm. Marika herself watches attentively over the staff and kitchen, which served up a delicious mixed mezze platter to start (the humus and spanekopita were truly excellent). Our waitress was kind and sweet and got all orders right in spite of the fact that she was still in training. The food overall is delicious, fresh and authentically Greek, but could be improved with some extra attention to detail (we were hoping for the real deal in ordering the moussaka, but it was not as tasty as some I've had, and too much somewhat stodgy béchamel sauce on top; the salads were a bit too onion-ey and could have been improved with a bit more tomato, maybe some basil /sun dried tomatoes, herbs etc..). While the food service could have been faster, the kitchen was clearly operating at max capacity and we had time to chat before eating without waiting too long. Overall we had a wonderful time at Marika's, which is a well-run establishment with plenty of character and a relaxing, homely touch.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marika's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Table View, Cape Town
 

Been to Marika's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing