We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ayana M

Courteous and friendly staff. Luxury hotel. Spacious rooms and dining was tasty. Breakfast had healthy options

Review of Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024via mobile
Courteous and friendly staff. Luxury hotel. Spacious rooms and dining was tasty. Breakfast had healthy options including for vegetarians. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It was a bit pricy but well worth it from the moment you walk through the doors until check out
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review
Responded 12 Jun 2024
Dear Ayana M,

Thank you for the Great rating of our hotel and for your compliments. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back at Taj Cape Town very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 581
R 1 787
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    R 2 040
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 797
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 786
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 694
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 780
0.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 2 576
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 584
  • Priceline
    R 2 354
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 584
1.0 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 080
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 080
1.7 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Long Street Hotel Bath
R 849
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 593
  • Agoda.com
    R 563
  • Expedia.com
    R 755
0.5 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
R 6 061
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 919
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 441
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 919
2.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 590
  • Priceline
    R 528
  • Agoda.com
    R 490
  • Vio.com
    R 528
0.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Pool
Restaurant
R 9 221
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 9 221
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 245
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 221
2.9 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Priceline
    R 1 455
  • Vio.com
    R 1 415
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 763
1.2 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    R 618
  • StayForLong
0.9 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (2 935)
Filter reviews
2 936 results
Traveller rating
2 119
522
158
63
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 119
522
158
63
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bombay brasserie mint restaurant jiva spa table mountain the club lounge valet parking in room dining mountain view excellent hotel company gardens concierge desk turn down service south africa camps bay waterfront luxury parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2 936 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2024

An excellent and classical all-round experience!
The environment is served with great ambience of home-away-from-home.
The staff are cordial and professional in delivery.

The neighborhood is historic and beautiful.

TAJ CAPE TOWN is a place to be!

Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear David,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2024 via mobile

We had a mountain view room in the heritage wing and it was gorgeous, such a nice view. On arrival we made use of the valet parking which is so handy, then our bags were whisked away whilst we checked in and enjoyed some complimentary chai tea. The spa was fantastic and we had two couples massages during our stay. The facilities in the spa, the steak, sauna, whirlpool and the gum and pool are great and it never felt crowded using any of it.The breakfast has so much choice, you really won't need lunch!

The only issue we had is that the hotel front desk had confused our check out date and the front desk repeatedly called us a day before telling us we needed to check out a day early. I managed to resolve this by showing them my agoda voucher with our correct check out date(luckily I had printed this out), which the front desk took to photocopy while I went back to my room and awaited the outcome. But that did make us panic, thinking we had to leave a day early and pack up and look for a hotel nearby and we missed our lunch booking because of this - which we had booked at a lovely local restaurant as we had to sort this out. Eventually we got a call from the front desk saying there had been an error and we could stay until the check out date we had booked and paid for already, but we never really got an explanation around why that had happened. Other than this small hiccup our stay was super and we would definitely return.

Room tip: Wake up for breakfast, it's incredible
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2024

Dear Sarahcol,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

I stayed with my husband for 6 days. I highly recommend this hotel. It is beautiful, the staff is very professional and friendly. The bedroom was big, nice, and super clean. The bathroom was beautiful, had toiletries, new clean white towels every day. The breakfast was amazing full of fruits, veggies, breads, coffees, eggs, etc. we had lunches and dinner’s everyday, and it was delicious always, they have salads, soups, vegetarian options, pizzas, pastas, the menu is big. Everyone was super nice.
The provided us bottles of water everyday in the bedroom and that was great.
The view to table mountain was amazing.
Everything was perfect, 5 stars hotel!

Room tip: The hotel is great give it a try !
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank karencruz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Dear karencruz27,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2024

The service was amazing and very friendly staff that helped in everyway the rooms were big and the Bed was so comtable Also had a great Breakfast offering that was excellent The Facilities were also excellent with a sauna Also getting a mountain view room has great views over Tabletop

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rohan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Dear Q6642llrohans,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024 via mobile

We enjoyed a lengthy stay (11 nights) at this beautiful hotel and then returned after a safari vacation for an additional night. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed and daily housekeeping service was excellent. It is definitely worth splurging for a view of Table Mountain. Initially we were on a low floor with an obstructed view so we requested and later moved to a higher floor with an unobstructed view.

The daily breakfasts were outstanding, and included a large buffet as well as a menu of items that could be prepared to order. We ate in the hotel bar and Mint restaurant and found the food delicious but service could be slow. On the other hand, room service meals were typically efficiently delivered and very well prepared.

The location of the hotel is great for access to many sites; the hop-on/hop-off bus stops nearby and the art museum, Company Gardens, and George St. Mall are steps away. We typically used Uber to go further distances; it was easy and inexpensive.

Service from the front desk, concierge, and other staff was exceptional. The hotel kindly stored our extra luggage while we were away on safari. If we return to Cape Town we would definitely prefer to stay at the Taj.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2024

Dear Deb O,

Thank you for the Great rating of our hotel and for your compliments. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back at Taj Cape Town very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews