We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hillery P
Kailua, Hawaii

Wonderful experience from check-in through check-out.

Review of Taj Cape Town
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
Beautiful hotel, excellent service, great location. I was immediately greeted and directed to reception. Check-in was an easy process. Nati at the front desk went above and beyond to make me feel welcomed. The view of Table Mountain from the room was amazing. Book that view of it is available. The room was spotless with the added touch of fresh flowers and sweet treats. I ate two meals there and the food was also excellent. Easy to grab a walking tour as there is a meeting point right outside the hotel. I highly recommend the Taj.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Close to shopping and walking tours meeting point. Easy Uber ride to the Wharf and airport. Two...
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Hillery,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
mark Wernich
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 959
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 725
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 270
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 727
0.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
R 2 210
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 005
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 000
  • Priceline
    R 2 020
1.0 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 080
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 074
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 080
  • Priceline
    R 3 080
1.7 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 727
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 762
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 413
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 763
1.2 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 937
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 413
  • Vio.com
    R 2 696
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 420
1.6 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
R 5 947
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 935
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 947
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 947
2.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Cape Town Lodge
R 628
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 564
  • Agoda.com
    R 540
  • Priceline
    R 581
0.4 km from Taj Cape Town
Pool
Restaurant
R 3 798
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 584
  • StayForLong
    R 3 064
  • Hotels.com
    R 3 591
2.0 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 516
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 516
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 505
  • Radissonhotels.com
    R 5 516
2.9 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 305
  • Priceline
    R 937
  • Vio.com
    R 862
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Taj Cape Town
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviews (2 924)
Filter reviews
2 924 results
Traveller rating
2 107
522
158
63
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2 107
522
158
63
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bombay brasserie mint restaurant jiva spa table mountain the club lounge valet parking in room dining mountain view excellent hotel company gardens concierge desk turn down service south africa camps bay waterfront luxury parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2 924 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I thought this was a nice hotel. Convenient area for tour buses and Ubers to pick you up from. Walking around the area at night is less safe, so we relied on Ubers to get around. But this hotel does have a great restaurant for breakfasts and dinner. Food quality was great, and the rooms were top notch as well.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 959brianh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 959brianh,

Thank you for the Great rating of our hotel and for your compliments. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you back at Taj Cape Town very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel with great service and food. Excellent value for price. Terrific staff - helpful and responsive. Location is great with affordable transportation via Uber to major sites. My only alert is waking around this particular location at night - the area is not as populated as others with residents, so it gets a bit abandoned in evening hours

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear gdb65,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Taj service is second to none. Staff to guest ratio is fantastic. Location is perfect. One of the best spa treatments ever. Mountain View is stunning. Food is delicious especially the Bombay Brasserie tasting menu. Can’t recommend enough, really. Welcoming and kind staff. We spent 5 nights in May and would definitely return.

Room tip: Location is perfect in town and many things to see nearby walkable and safe. Paid for breakfast package and worthwhile.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank susangT9507YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear susangT9507YC,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent six unforgettable days at the Taj Cape Town, creating cherished memories. Our group of six—grandparents, parents, and kids—were pampered with exceptional hospitality and service. The Taj team excelled in assisting us with day plans, arranging transport, and serving delicious food, ensuring all our needs were met. This set the perfect tone for our amazing South African holiday. As always, Taj exceeded our expectations. Special thanks to our incredibly resourceful concierge, Dale Scholtz, and our knowledgeable and kind chauffeur, Juma.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surabhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 13surabhip,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay. The service, the room, the Spa and the food were all excellent.
The location of the hotel is central and gives a enjoyable city vibrance.
We also enjoyed the gym, it had some added equipment from our previous visit which was great.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenfisher2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear warrenfisher2016,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews