We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$208
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Agoda.com
US$115
View deal
Hotels.comUS$125
eDreamsUS$129
TravelocityUS$125
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 537)
Filter reviews
2 537 results
Traveller rating
1 805
486
142
49
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 805
486
142
49
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bombay brasserie mint restaurant jiva spa table mountain range rover the club lounge in room dining valet parking excellent hotel company gardens mountain view concierge desk turn down service south africa shuttle service free shuttle bo kaap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 2 537 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2021

Stayed at the Taj CPT with my wife for five nights for a celebration of my 50th birthday! It's a great hotel with luxurious rooms. The whole building is very historic and very well maintained in its original form. The staff was courteous and very helpful with local advice. Breakfast was on order (no buffet due to coronavirus) and the Indian menu items were a total surprise plus delicious too. The location is great- the Red bus (HOHO) terminal on Long Street was walking distance and so were other facilities. The Taj had superb covid protocols in place and we left extremely satisfied.

Room tip: Table Mountain view rooms maybe more expensive but totally worth it.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BhattiSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great rating of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We were staying at the Taj for 5 nights, we were supposed to stay 4 nights, but we loved it so much, so we extended it.
We were staying in the one bedroom suite, which was spacious. room was clean and tidy, with amazing views of table mountain. Wi Fi signal was excellent.
Breakfast was not a buffet (due to Covid), but the staff are doing their best to bring you anything you ask (even if its not on the breakfast menu). Afternoon tea is really nice experience, huge vareity of pastries and finger food, and you can also order it to the room.
Gym and indoor pool are great, usually gyms are quite small, but they have a really good one.
we have tried the spa, which was excellent as well.
The service is top notch, from the reservation agent to the vallet parking, housekeeping, and breakfast room waiters.
Would like to say special appriciation to Audine from reservation that really helped us with booking process (as we had to change the booking so many time because of Covid), Lee Anne from sales, that made sure we have anything we need, and Primrose - the breakfast waitress that always took care that we will eat :)
highly recommended.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bdelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great rayting of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We were a family of five and stayed at Taj Cape Town for 3 nights. We had an outstanding experience and I really wished we could have stayed longer. The level of professionalism from from both Hotel Management and Staff is highly commendable. Dinner at the Bombay Brasserie was well prepared and presented however the time between courses was lengthy. Breakfast was ordered off a menu, plated, well presented and sufficient. There was a variety of fruit, fresh bakes, fresh breads provided at the table. Jiva Spa also exceeded my expectations, we enjoyed the heated pool and steam-room as well as relaxing massages. Thank you Taj Cape Town for your hospitality, we look forward to future stays.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannen674
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great rating of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

I am still at the Taj as I wrote this review, waiting for my taxi to the airport. My son and I stayed for a single night benefiting, to the hotel's cost, from a Covid-related aggressive price discount. But despite the modest cost, the product was 100% full 5*. Service is the Taj hotel groups mantra and I have really never seen it displayed as well as here. My son asked whether we'd come back 'if it was another special offer' and I volunteered, and meant it, that I'd come back at full price. Excellent hotel. Ubers are everywhere, so the very central location is also a huge bonus although after-dark walks should be avoided.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rmpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great rating of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

Stayed at the Taj for a week in a Suite with Table Mountain view. The package came with breakfast, which was incredible. So much delicious options. We had a nice holiday at the Taj Cape Town, the team was friendly and polite. The view from my suite was amazing, you could see Table Mountain. Cape Town was fun, we did different excursions such as wine tour of stellenbosh wine region, tour of table mountain, tour of the 12 apostle mountain. There is so much to do! Will definitely come back.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EAJSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM Cape Town, Owner at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great rating of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Mark Wernich
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews