We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Taj”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Taj. It was excellent in all aspects. On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite, which was a fantastic surprise as we were travelling for our honeymoon. We had complimentary access to the executive lounge, where there is a selection of food and drinks, and the two gentlemen at the front desk on our days there were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was fantastic, very spacious with a huge bed and lovely bathroom and a great view of Table Mountain. The location of the hotel is great - 10 mins to V&A, 15 mins to Camps Bay and walking distance from the buzzy streets of Long Street, Kloof Street, Bree Street. The hotel even has 2 of their own cars which if available will take you where you need free of charge, otherwise uber is very easy to use. Special mention to the concierge team, Faaik, Luvo and the rest of the team who were so helpful in booking excursions and restaurants. The walking tour is also fantastic, the girl who takes the tour is so knowledgable and friendly- we did this on our last day but i would recommend doing this early on during your stay! Overall it was fantastic and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Amit,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1 863 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 4 nights - Centrally located, well furnished, clean with friendly staff and good service- would have liked an area outside to sit in the sun (other than the Mint restaurant) but overall did the job

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LEMONS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are apparently two sections to this hotel, the newly built and the "heritage". I was in the new section, corner room on the 15th floor. The view of Table Mountain was fantastic! There is a small walkout balcony too, with view of old church below. Quiet, very comfortable bed, bright and cheery with plenty of lighting. Bath area was separated by glass wall (with shade) and had large tub, huge shower and very nice counter and amenities. Robes provided, and towels were large and plentiful. Closet, safe, Ironing set all good. Excellent mirrors, loved it!! Nice large TV. Minibar well stocked, and produced a nice cold beer for unpacking and the prices were reasonable. Gym is good size and well-appointed with good range of machines. Lounge downstairs is cozy and charming. The breakfast is very good, huge selection. Taxi to the waterfront is about 50 Rand, 15 minutes. In general the hotel was convenient to everything but nice because it's quieter. I will definitely stay again next trip.

Room Tip: heritage rooms are more charming but on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jadedtravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here.

The rooms were first class and the hotel is well furnished with nothing shabby and is in a great location.

We were in a Taj Club room with an executive lounge and butler. The lounge was great but depended heavily on the charm and customer service of one employee: Innocent. He was brilliant and the service wasn’t as good when he wasn’t around.

The breakfast in the main hotel generally had poor service and seemed to be a bit unorganised although it had lots of staff and enough to handle the volumes of customers. Although service was slow and poor the choice and quality of food was good.

Don’t go to the hotel’s bar Twankies as that is a real disaster. No atmosphere, terrible food and a poor manager. We walked out and didn’t pay our bill as the food produced didn’t match the menu in any way. That said the cocktails were 1st class.

So, a lovely hotel in a great location with lovely rooms however service is patchy and very dependant on key people.

One of the hotel drivers collected us from
the airport and was brilliant when our cases were lost/delayed. He helped us sort the problem and waited until they came on the next flight. A real demonstration of using initiative and great customer service. Well done and thanks to him.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in the heart of Cape Town, walking distance to everything. The front desk is super helpful, they were able to help us book various tours. The rooms are pretty spacious and beautiful. If you are looking for a higher-end hotel, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 737 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 341 - R 5 922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing