We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 013)
Filter reviews
2 013 results
Traveller rating
1 447
395
104
35
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 447
395
104
35
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbombay brasseriemint restaurantjiva spatwankey barrange rovertable mountainexcellent hotelin room diningcompany gardensluxurious hotelmountain viewupgraded to a suiteconcierge deskturn down servicehigh tealong streetsouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 2 013 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights - Centrally located, well furnished, clean with friendly staff and good service- would have liked an area outside to sit in the sun (other than the Mint restaurant) but overall did the job

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LEMONS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

There are apparently two sections to this hotel, the newly built and the "heritage". I was in the new section, corner room on the 15th floor. The view of Table Mountain was fantastic! There is a small walkout balcony too, with view of old church below. Quiet, very comfortable bed, bright and cheery with plenty of lighting. Bath area was separated by glass wall (with shade) and had large tub, huge shower and very nice counter and amenities. Robes provided, and towels were large and plentiful. Closet, safe, Ironing set all good. Excellent mirrors, loved it!! Nice large TV. Minibar well stocked, and produced a nice cold beer for unpacking and the prices were reasonable. Gym is good size and well-appointed with good range of machines. Lounge downstairs is cozy and charming. The breakfast is very good, huge selection. Taxi to the waterfront is about 50 Rand, 15 minutes. In general the hotel was convenient to everything but nice because it's quieter. I will definitely stay again next trip.

Room Tip: heritage rooms are more charming but on lower floors
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jadedtravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here.

The rooms were first class and the hotel is well furnished with nothing shabby and is in a great location.

We were in a Taj Club room with an executive lounge and butler. The lounge was great but depended heavily on the charm and customer service of one employee: Innocent. He was brilliant and the service wasn’t as good when he wasn’t around.

The breakfast in the main hotel generally had poor service and seemed to be a bit unorganised although it had lots of staff and enough to handle the volumes of customers. Although service was slow and poor the choice and quality of food was good.

Don’t go to the hotel’s bar Twankies as that is a real disaster. No atmosphere, terrible food and a poor manager. We walked out and didn’t pay our bill as the food produced didn’t match the menu in any way. That said the cocktails were 1st class.

So, a lovely hotel in a great location with lovely rooms however service is patchy and very dependant on key people.

One of the hotel drivers collected us from
the airport and was brilliant when our cases were lost/delayed. He helped us sort the problem and waited until they came on the next flight. A real demonstration of using initiative and great customer service. Well done and thanks to him.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

This hotel is in the heart of Cape Town, walking distance to everything. The front desk is super helpful, they were able to help us book various tours. The rooms are pretty spacious and beautiful. If you are looking for a higher-end hotel, look no further.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Taj was so welcoming and kind - really enjoyed our stay and really have to commend Peter at the reception desk who was very helpful and attentive!
Peter is a real asset to their team!
The rooms are beautiful and offers everything you need.Took an amazing photo with table Mountain views in the background. The hotel is in a perfect spot with shops and restaurants nearby. Would love to stay there next time I am in Cape Town. Such amazing service and incredible staff. Missed the spa - next time!

Room Tip: Great views of the mountain!
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 731williev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews