We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue ”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and family back in January 2017 and even though I wanted to , I never took the time to say few words about this stunning hotel in the heart of Cape Town.
It's hard to describe this old beauty that once upon a time used to be a bank. The room we had was with small balcony where our days began with cup of coffee and ended with glass of wine . The bathroom was by far the most beautiful bathroom We ever had in any of the hotels we've ever stayed! One could see the bedroom while bathing or showing due to the entire glass wall in the bathroom!
The staff is attentive , professional and extremely nice. I forgot most of names by now but will never forget their faces and willingness to always be there in case we needed something . Cape Town is an amazing city with nicest people one can imagine , hotel is stunning but what really made my trip unforgettable was the staff at Taj.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nela1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the absolutely wonderful review of our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be honoured to see you again and welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1 863 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018

The Taj Cape Town is a beautiful hotel in the heart of central Cape Town. Rooms are spacious - and ours had a great view of the mountains that form Cape Town's spectacular backdrop. Service was great and the foyer bar and breakfast area was excellent. A particular mention to the reception and concierge teams who were always helpful.
Love the Indian restaurant - but will review that separately.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbg62015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review of our hotel! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We had an initial problem with the room but the way the situation was resolved was absolutely first class. Our room itself had a spectacular view of Table Mountain and the amenities and location of the hotel are spot on. The breakfast is also vast with lots of variety. Special mention to Tyler who went over and beyond to ensure that our stay was comfortable and enjoyable, and to Faaiq on the Concierge desk who was always helpful and courteous. If (when) we return to Cape Town, I would not hesitate to return to the Taj.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Samit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is quite good. Lovely and friendly staff. Wine tasting every day from 6 to 7 pm. Very comfortable room with a bathroom to the table mountain. I do recommend and there are many attractions near the hotel too. Congrats to the Taj team and their Bombay Brasserie.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Guilherme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We stayed at the Taj for 10 days over New Year on a B & B basis. It is situated in a great location, our room was large, clean and spacious with everything a hotel should have for its guests. Our room had a superb view of Table Mountain. Breakfast was plentiful and nothing was too much trouble; my wife asked for a crepe one day - and the chefs produced one for her. Which was presumably good as she ate it all! We did use room service a couple of times - it was easy to order, we didn't have to wait too long and the food was great. Although there is no outdoor swimming pool, the hotel does have an indoor pool, steam rooms (in each of the male & female changing rooms), gym and a spa. We didn't make use of the spa or gym but we did the pool, which is heated slightly. We were the only ones in there - so it felt like a private pool - I would imagine if there were more than 5 people in it - it would be a bit crowded and difficult to swim. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the concierge services are possibly the best we've experienced. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel operates a shuttle mini-bus to the waterfront - which we used on a few occasions and we also got some good advice on taxis, prices and safety.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again when in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 736 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 358 - R 6 065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing