We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Spa experience. Serenity once you step iside”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I loved everything about this spa. From the detox tea, the chill room before and after your treatment, the use of the facilities before or after your treatments to the professionalism of the staff. I've been to the spa twice and enjoyed my experience both times.

Room Tip: great spa, good afternoon tea spread
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 96 of 1 863 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Taj Cape Town is maintaining their tradition of excellence. Location is excellent and can see excellent table mountain without any obstruction. Our room was excellent and clean and can see Table Mountain 24/7 without obstruction 24/7,Brakefast was excellent . Front Desk staff are caring and make effort to provide best care to our need

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank sr0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

One of the really nice hotels with good shuttles to the V&A waterfront and very friendly, helpful people especially the ones at the front desk. Ask for Noma. Restaurants had good selection of food and wines.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank S10UXK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Great stay and TAJNESS.EXCELLENT FACILITY AND STAFF SPOILED US OVER THE 6 days stay at this hotel going to visit different facilities around the world in future.awasome food and drinks.best service you can ever expect.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ajay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

I stayed at the Taj for five days in August for business in Cape Town. I was able to get an excellent deal through the Taj Hotels website using their mobile app promotion. The price included breakfast which made the deal an exception value.

The room was huge, luxurious and well equipped for business. I was welcomed with a bowl of fruit and bottle of South African wine. The hotel is well located in the shadow of Table Mountain and steps from the South African Parliament. Long street and District Six, with their restaurants and coffee shops, are within easy walking distance.

I enjoyed every breakfast at the Mint and was pleasantly surprised by my dinners there. Bombay Brasserie lived up to the hype and is worth it if you have the time to properly enjoy every course.

The staff were uniformly excellent. Housekeeping was diligent. The front desk and concierge were consistently helpful. The drivers were very accommodating and helped me make the most of my time in Cape Town.

The only negative I can come up with was that WiFi was spotty. This made it a bit difficult for my work. I ended up relying on the the wireless LTE service on my iPhone to stay connected with my office in Canada.

My boss had stayed at the Taj and had highly recommended it to me. I can confidently do the same.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 408 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 445 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 738 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 685 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 311 - R 5 795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing