We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, A+ Service, Just Perfect”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed at the TAJ for 4 days and 3 nights and could not have been happier. The stay was part of our honeymoon and the entire staff at the Taj made our stay as perfect as possible. The hotel is pristine and has a great mix of old architecture, classic furniture, and modern amenities, The service is amazing. Shout outs go to Phillip in the lobby bar, Felicia in the restaurant that serves breakfast in the morning, and all the drivers of the hotel cars (Jaguar and Range Rover). The staff at the Taj is the example of what the service should be like at all luxury hotels.

Room was beautiful and had a table mountain view. Hotel car takes you wherever you need to go in the area, which made life very easy,. Concierge was always helpful and the front desk staff were so pleasant. We loved everything about our stay at the Taj and will be staying at their other properties in our future travels.

Room Tip: Table mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your wonderfully positive feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 258 of 1 863 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

My third stay at this great Cape Town property in 3 years and it remains consistently very good indeed. From check in to check out nothing is too much trouble. beautiful rooms, fantastic food and beverage outlets and all the luxury mod cons that one could hope for. Cental Cape Town location means its easy to explore all that the surrounding area has to offer. The hotel also offers a Spa, well-equipped gym and a heated swimming pool. The in room dining experience is top class too. Hourly shuttles to the famous V&A Waterfront are also offered free of charge. free wi-fi throughout the hotel means one can stay in touch with the outsie world should one want to. I will be back for sure

Room Tip: if you can afford it, the suites are world class, some even with 2 balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Stayed in this hotel for 5 days over Xmas,and it was rather special with a choir on Xmas eve.
We were upgraded to a lovely room ( but no view )
Breakfast was great but the scrambled eggs were runny and bacon was terrible .
They have a shuttle bus and free consierege car.
The general manager was lovely and when we had a problem with a small amount of money taken from a bag in my bedroom he sorted us out.
I found some lovely small shops up side streets,and went to the biscuit factory market.
The Tiger milk restaurant near the hotel was great.
We also used the Bombay restaurant in the hotel which was quite good
The staff were lovely.but too many at the breakfast ,

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_CailinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team so that the same does not recur.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the lovely Taj Hotel in Cape Town and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The hotel has an amazing staff who couldn't wait to take care of our every need. They even have a couple of "house cars" and most evenings dropped us at our restaurant where they had made reservations for us for dinner. Would highly recommend the hotel to friends and family and will certainly go back the next time we visit Cape Town!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 15th floor in a room overlooking Table Mountain. It was glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeckyPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

nothing to complaint about, everthing good! perfect location to visit the city, they supply help for any kind of things you may need! they also organize tour and trips to visit the highlights of cape town

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank giuliolucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAJ C, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback which we will certainly convey to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town whenever you are in the city the next time.

Kindest Regards,

Sanjay Sood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 407 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 441 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 736 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 682 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 2 358 - R 6 065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing