We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Again ”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2015 via mobile

Consistent - my third visit and still here - breakfast staff gave me a lovely welcome return. Rooms are large my first time I was spoilt with a suite - if you can afford it defiantly worth it if there's two of you. Will definitely come back why wouldn't I. Very smart hotel without being pompous. Great location for business or pleasure.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Gary H
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. We will be certain to share your appreciation with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1 841 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2015

The best service, hospitality & staff I've experienced in a long time. I don't like leaving! You are welcomed as soon as you arrive, your car is valeted and the staff is always there to assist. A great place to stay in the heart of Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mare1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. We will be certain to share your appreciation with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Have been travelling to Cape Town for many years and have stayed in many different hotels over the years. I must say to date the The Taj for me has been the Best of all hotels I have stayed in.
The location, Service, Room Size and food is impeccable it's truly world class and I will now make this my hotel of choice for future visits to cape Town

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
2  Thank Ebi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. We will be certain to share your appreciation with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The most friendly and service oriented staff that I have ever encountered. Great location, great food in the restaurants. Lovely lobby and lounge. Wonderful location within walking distance of sights, street market, and parks.

Room Tip: Corner room that had a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nana51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback. We will be certain to share your appreciation with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

The staff at the hotel were fantastic and attended to our every need. The only complaint was that I was surprised even staying on the 9th floor of the volume of street noise, but that was trumped by the amazing view of table mountain. The hotel has a handy complimentary shuttle to the waterfront.

Room Tip: high floor, mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn_Morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We have also noted your comment pertaining to the noise and have asked our engineering team to check all the seals, we do apologise for the inconvenience this caused. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town, in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 393 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 646 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 705 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 445 - R7 840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing