We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signature Taj hospitality!”
Review of Taj Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2015

We stayed at the Taj Cape Town during November 2014, even though it was a our preferred choice to stay at the V&A Waterfront. Due to our last minute plan, however, all hotels were fully booked at the Waterfront and hence we chose this hotel as an alternative.

The hotel itself breathes superb Indian hospitality which the Taj group are renowned for and the decor and ambience go hand in hand with the universal Taj brand, very upscale and luxurious. Our welcome and check in were very smooth and friendly, our room was very spacious and comfortable with a magnificent view of the Table Mountain, the bathroom was almost palatial. They did not have our daughter's extra bed prepared upon arrival, however with true Taj service, this was organised in minimal time and without any hassle. We did not have time to make use of the indoor pool and spa.

The breakfast buffet spread and service were fairly good. We thoroughly enjoyed dining at the Bombay Brasserie downstairs which offered sumptuous Indian cuisine. We found the Concierge very helpful with updates on the Table Mountain cable car weather and with booking excursions to Cape Point and wine country. I would recommend guests to book through the hotel if not very familiar with the country etc.

Even though we did not stay at the V&A Waterfront, the complimentary multi-daily shuttles from the hotel worked, just a 15-20min drive away. The location in the city centre also worked for us as we were able to experience some of the historical part of Cape Town and walk in the streets around the area. A plus was access to several restaurants and food and craft markets. Whilst at the Waterfront, we took our daughter to the Two Fish Aquarium, the mall and tried out some restaurants. There is a modern craft market at the Waterfront for a unique shopping experience.

Overall, our experience at the Taj Cape Town was pleasant, comfortable and family friendly. In the end we were happy to be away from the mass tourist crowds and hustle and bustle of the Waterfront.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank SoniHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. We have noted your comment about the extra bed not being ready on check in and will certainly address this with the housekeeping department. We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 865 of 1 841 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2015

Stayed at the Taj for seven days, great hotel, lovely rooms, good friendly staff , decent breakfast, it is in a good location in central Capetown next to markets and shops , opposite the company gardens which are great to walk around , they also run a shuttle to the Waterfront and table mountain, this is a hotel i will definitely going back too.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Ron
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

My Fiancé and I were treated to a night at the Taj to top off our get away in Cape Town. The extremely warm welcome and smiling faces on arrival, the super quick service and efficient check in, Amazing room with a view and the most divine buffet breakfast was really the highlight of the trip. Being lodge managers ourselves these guys have it going for them and I would recommend it to everyone!! Great work team and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KTrewavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back to Taj Cape Town in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I stayed on business here and we tried dinner and breakfast.

The rooms are really well appointed and in keeping with excellent Taj standards. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The location is very handy for the business district and is close to Government buildings too. I didn't have a view of table mountain but my colleague did and I would recommend you request that.

Ask for a room on a high floor to enjoy a view whichever side of the hotel you stay on.

Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms ensured a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was very comprehensive and the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly despite being very busy. Service was efficient and the quality and variety of food was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a view of table mountain for maximum enjoyment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pipsta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa, and more importantly Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Staff and management know you by name, very professional, as well as exceptionally friendly. The rates are very favorable, and it is much preferred to staying in the tourist center at V&A where you feel like you are in a Mall that is so crowded and touristy - with the Taj shuttle or car to take you anywhere, this is by far the best experience and place to stay, breakfast is wonderful too.. i even got a little south african pin from a staff member in the restaurant.

Room Tip: mountain view - higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eelnosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa, and more importantly Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 392 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 646 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 704 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Cape Town

Address: 1 Wale Street | Corner St Georges Mall, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R2 445 - R7 840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Cape Town welcomes guests to the vibrant heart of the one of the world's most scenic and desirable cities, Cape Town. The hotel is a combination of rich history and elegant contemporary architectures. Originally home of the South African Reserve Bank and Temple Chambers and later the Board of Executors (BOE), it successfully combines the heritage of the old with the luxury of the new - a 100 years in history! This luxury hotel is perfectly located in the centre of historic Cape Town at the entrance of the famous pedestrian precinct, St George's Mall. It's prime location ensures a blend of fascinating history, exotic culture, soulful art, lively entertainment and delectable cuisine. - Within walking distance to most tourist attractions, monuments, museums, shopping, restaurants, markets and nightlife. Adding to this grand yet welcoming atmosphere are the two dining experiences, the Indian fine dine specialty restaurant, Bombay Brasserie and Mint, a relaxed all-day dining restaurant. Both are warm and welcoming and serve outstanding cuisine. Alongside this you'll find wonderful Champagne and tapas bar known as The Twankey Bar which is exceedingly popular with both locals and guests alike. Rooms are located in both the heritage buildings and the contemporary tower wing, but all continue to seamlessly merge history and modernity. Luxury Rooms have spectacular city or breathtaking mountain views overlooking the famous Table Mountain and the Taj Club Rooms and suites offer all the benefits of the executive Club Lounge including butler service, evening canapes, cocktails and private breakfast. One and Two Bedroom Suites are also available, perfect for the discerning traveller or for families. The award winning Jiva Grande Spa is one of its kind in Africa with unique and authentic wellness treatments and experiences. Also on offer is complimentary use of all wet areas, heated pool, and a high tech gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing