We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 016)
Filter reviews
2 016 results
Traveller rating
1 448
395
105
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 448
395
105
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbombay brasseriemint restaurantjiva spatwankey barrange rovertable mountainexcellent hotelin room diningcompany gardensluxurious hotelmountain viewupgraded to a suiteconcierge deskturn down servicehigh tealong streetsouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
1 009 - 1 014 of 2 016 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Stayed at the Taj for seven days, great hotel, lovely rooms, good friendly staff , decent breakfast, it is in a good location in central Capetown next to markets and shops , opposite the company gardens which are great to walk around , they also run a shuttle to the Waterfront and table mountain, this is a hotel i will definitely going back too.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Ron
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will certainly convey this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Cape Town in the near future.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

My Fiancé and I were treated to a night at the Taj to top off our get away in Cape Town. The extremely warm welcome and smiling faces on arrival, the super quick service and efficient check in, Amazing room with a view and the most divine buffet breakfast was really the highlight of the trip. Being lodge managers ourselves these guys have it going for them and I would recommend it to everyone!! Great work team and we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KTrewavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back to Taj Cape Town in the near future
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

I stayed on business here and we tried dinner and breakfast.

The rooms are really well appointed and in keeping with excellent Taj standards. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The location is very handy for the business district and is close to Government buildings too. I didn't have a view of table mountain but my colleague did and I would recommend you request that.

Ask for a room on a high floor to enjoy a view whichever side of the hotel you stay on.

Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms ensured a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was very comprehensive and the staff were very polite, helpful and friendly despite being very busy. Service was efficient and the quality and variety of food was plentiful and very good.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a view of table mountain for maximum enjoyment.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pipsta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa, and more importantly Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Staff and management know you by name, very professional, as well as exceptionally friendly. The rates are very favorable, and it is much preferred to staying in the tourist center at V&A where you feel like you are in a Mall that is so crowded and touristy - with the Taj shuttle or car to take you anywhere, this is by far the best experience and place to stay, breakfast is wonderful too.. i even got a little south african pin from a staff member in the restaurant.

Room Tip: mountain view - higher floor
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eelnosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We will certainly convey your appreciation to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Africa, and more importantly Taj Cape Town
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

The Taj is by all accounts, a fantastic hotel. The rooms are more like suites - lots of extra space, deep tubs, generous living areas.

While the fitness room is small, but sufficient, the pool leaves a lot to desired. While it makes sense during the winter months in Cape Town, where rain is constant, an indoor, undercover pool just doesn't inspire in summer.

The breakfasts were ample and delicious, the room service from the Bombay Brasserie is amazing, and the staff were great.

In all, a luxury hotel if you're in town for business and happy to be in the city centre, though for my personal tastes, a more outdoor or waterfront hotel is a better pick for Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank miss_mish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIPCapeTown, General Manager at Taj Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. We trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back to Taj Cape Town.
Kind regards
Michael Pownall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews