We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table mountain view from the room”
Review of Strand Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Strand Tower Hotel
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is clearly a hotel for groups (we also were part of a group) In such a case the service is not any more personal.The breakfast was good as well the dinner which we served at the bar and not in the dinning room.
The 4* I gave is mostly because we received a room with a FANTASTIC view to the Table Mountain.
The room is not small but the beds were very narrow. What was something new for us was a mobile phone in the room for the use of the guest. Since we were most of the time traveling with the group we did not use it but I am sure it is something worth trying.
The bell boy in one case was very kind and came with us to the nearest super market and helped us find what we needed.
The hotel is centraly located and during the day you can walk to the major sites in the city.In the evenings we used taxi at 50 rand from the hotel to the Water front.Return, if late evening you will pay 60 rand.Still very cheap.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kertesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 716 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Strand Tower Hotel is listed as a 4 star hotel but the experience that I had was that of a 1 star. The booking was made and paid prior to me booking in (it was a gift from a friend as my birthday was on the 31 December 2017). However the reception insisted that I pay as bookings made through the agency gets paid on arrival, which ended up being incorrect, meaning a double payment went off.

Secondly the food was terrible, we ordered a meal at the restaurant, it took 20 minutes to arrive, for something that looked reheated with some sauce thrown on as an after thought.

And there's more! As it was New Year's Eve we arrived back at the hotel at 3:30am, by 7am my friend woke me up to say she is feeling itchy, when we checked under the linen and pillows, we found fleas and bed bugs!!!!! Myself and my friend have been bitten to smithereens (I alone have over 20 bites over my arms and face). We immediately packed up and left, they gave us a refund and offered to give us a complimentary stay but I never want to set foot in this Hotel of Horrors ever again. The head of housekeeping seemed oblivious as she said the rooms were cleaned the day before, but this is a pest control and fumigation issue!

I'm glad the management gave us the refund however this shouldn't be happening in the first place especially if you are a paying guest, spending over R2000 for the night.

I am utterly disgusted by this occurrence and never has this occurred at any hotel or B&B that I've stayed at before.

Taryn Harker.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Situated bang in the city centre within easy walking distance of the water front it’s location is it’s main benefit but do not be fooled by its four star rating. This hotel is old and worn out. From its very basic rooms to the stained carpets I got the feeling someone has bought this hotel on the cheap to make a quick buck. We stayed for six nights which is a big mistake as this hotel is only really suitable for one or two night business stays not for leisure. My first room was extremely cramped reminding of a cheap American motel. My second after complaining was slightly larger at the expense of a smaller bathroom. Under these circumstances the staff were admirable in their desire to try and make the best of it for the cliental. Breakfast buffet was passable with fresh fruit and pastries but the cooked breakfast started off English but gradually turned to Asian cuisine towards the end of our stay? Piece of advice. If on a high floor plan your trip as the lifts have a mind of their own and you may end up visiting every one before arriving at your destination.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank barry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Its location is very good. It is near red bus station (#5), Woolworth Shopping center, Civic station and other important places.0 Breakfast is very nice.
It is recommended to put complementary water, slippers and good quality tissues in the rooms (at least for the first day of stay).

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Beautifulbutterfly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Thank you for an awesome weekend and making us feel at home. We had a great experience staying at Stand Towers. Thank you for the complimentary weekend. I felt like I was on holiday. I hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank quintis2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,4 km away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#87 of 112 in Cape Town Central
557 reviews
0,3 km away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#78 of 112 in Cape Town Central
474 reviews
0,5 km away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#82 of 112 in Cape Town Central
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#47 of 112 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
0,3 km away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
71 reviews
0,5 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#74 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Tower Hotel

Address: Strand St | Corner Loop Streets, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 254 - R 2 044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of South Africa’s most beautiful cities. Located in the heart of the Mother City, the Holiday Inn Cape Town is in close proximity to many of the city’s major attractions. The Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, it is a mere 10-15 minutes’ walk along the historic streets of Cape Town. Take a walk up the majestic Table Mountain and enjoy the legendary scenic views that Cape Town has to offer. With the central location of the Holiday Inn Cape Town you can take to the streets & experience Cape Town‘s diverse range of restaurants, shops and vibrant nightlife. A “My city” bus station is just seconds away, making this the ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler, offering ease of exploration throughout Cape Town. Whether you're overnighting for business, enjoying sundowner cocktails poolside with friends or hosting a conference, the Holiday Inn Cape Town ensures a memorable experience for all. At Holiday Inn Cape Town, you're our reason to smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Strand Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing