We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bijoux location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were highly recommend this by our travel advisors. A great choice it was too.

The location is 10 mins and about £5 taxi to and from the V&A Waterfront. 15 mins from Table Mountain cableway, 4 minutes walk from Mount Nelson Hotel and very good restaurants a few minutes walk away.

We had a two room apartment, with a bed almost as comfortable as at home. The linen is very high quality.

Breakfast is in an airy room with a buffet and cooked breakfasts.

Very good complimentary WiFi and a kitchenette with everything to cook for yourself if you wanted to. They put fresh milk in the fridge which pleases my wife for her morning and evening teas. Nice touch.

The concierge, Irshaad, helped plan our itinerary and book restaurants etc months before our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble and the complimentary driver in the city was very helpful.

For a longer trip, 09:00-16:00, the driver was with us all day and was very reasonably priced.

Would we stay here again and recommend it to our friends. YES, YES, YES.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank PigletWinnieAndRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It is a nice boutique hotel in Capetown. It is well located. You can do a lot of things during the day or at night on foot. great restaurants around the corner.
We stayed in the house with a family of 9 and it was a good fit.
Breakfast was very nice too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Markus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My two daughters and I, stayed for a week at the More Quarters Hotel. It was a unforgettable and unique experience! From the beginning we were very well received by the employees who always helped us with our issues of Gps and turism places. Always in a good mood and very committed to solve any problem.
The hotel is wonderful, the room cozy, large and very well equipped, great shower and bed. Delicious food too.
We feel at home and recommend this place to everyone in Cape Town.
Thank you for everything. We'll come back as soon as we can.
Hugs,
Carolina, Joana and Iris

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank laraandcorolinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice idea of acquiring individual houses and convert them into a hotel rooms- houses.
Design is basic but nice, spacious rooms, very good amenities , staff attentive , quite decent breakfast and good location.
For people who prefers not the usual boring big hotels this a good choice.
Very recommendable .

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Panchorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

MORE Attention to detail - rooms were signed off with chunks out of the toilet seat, cracked sinks, dirty, chipped and miss- matched furniture. No ice facility in a 4 bed house. No air con in main reception rooms. Air con in master bed totally ineffective - couldn’t use the main room for 2/5 nights due to heat and poor air on. No facility to play music anywhere in a 4 bed house?

MORE Staff training - lots of staff going around and around, but no one seemed in charge or ensuring guests were satisfied. Senior staff would swoosh you up stairs for breakfast and then leave you in an empty room for 5 mins before a waiter would appear. Different breakfast staff every day - it felt like a training school without any teachers.

MORE Transparency - no one told us we could not use our pool before arrival. I appreciated hotel is not responsible for a drought, however they are responsible for letting guests know if a major attraction to their room is not usable. Also, they failed to mention their own construction project which had pneumatic drills from 9-5 if you wanted to chill on your terrace.

MORE Quality - beds and bedding, particularly to master bedroom of Redcliffe House were of very poor quality. Also miss matched furniture and furnishings were often broken, or chipped and appeared quite dirty.

MORE Consistency, needed, in terms of quality of food offered and the standards of rooms. Huge disparity within Redcliffe House. Each day at breakfast was pot luck - one day 5staff members, the next one poorly trained individual. What does everyone else do????

MORE Follow-up,required. When raising an issue nothing often came of it. Ordering some towels became a farce - 3 calls and asked 2 individuals over the course of 2 hours - disgraceful. No one appears in charge. Lots of people with specific roles but it doesn’t come together at all.

MORE substance required!! You cant rely on style alone.

Room Tip: Avoid Redcliffe House, unless it has a complete overhaul particularly to the master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOREfamily, General Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ‘JKlondon09’,

Thank you for taking the time to draft this review following your stay at More Quarters. Although it was not obviously the kind we enjoy to read, it always gives us the opportunity to improve and for this we are grateful. While we have already communicated with one another directly, for the purpose of transparency I’ve attended to each of your queries directly below.

MORE Attention to detail:
Redcliff House has recently undergone a full refurbishment, including a complete repaint on the exterior; gardens being landscaped; and floors being redone two months ago. Most of the furniture and interiors are, in fact, brand new. The basin you refer to (which has a 5cm hairline crack) is a very specific model, which is currently being sourced. The cracked toilet seat was replaced immediately upon you reporting it. We regret that we neither noticed nor rectified the problem prior to your arrival, and apologise for the inconvenience you suffered until the new seat arrived.

One air-conditioner was reported as faulty. We immediately called out a technician, however the problem was larger than anticipated as a compressor needed to be replaced. We ordered the part and it only arrived 3 days later, after you had departed. The house still had 3 operating air-conditioners (one per bedroom). We specifically do not have units in the main areas of the house, as this double volume space with doors onto balconies is usually completely open, making air conditioning redundant.

We have arranged for a BOSE speaker system to be installed in Redcliffe House, which will enable guests to play their own selection of music.

MORE staff training/ MORE follow up:
While we appreciate your frustration experienced over our breakfast service, and acknowledge there was certainly room for improvement (which we have since workshopped internally), we are surprised at your comment regarding no management presence. Derrick, the More Quarters Manager, placed a bottle of wine in your room on the first night of arrival with an apology note regarding your disappointment over your pool not having water. The next day, Derrick checked in on you at breakfast. Chanelle, our More Private Travel Concierge, also met with you at breakfast to apologise, following up with a gift basket in your room with personal note and treats. That same afternoon, Derrick did a walkabout of the house with you to view areas of concern. On your day of departure, we granted a complimentary late check out. While I realize and respect that wine and gift basket do not adequately compensate for your disappointment, I feel it is important to highlight that management were present and responsive during your stay.

We are not clear how you had initially requested the beach towels. Shortly after receiving a very angry call from you stating that you had been waiting 30 minutes for your towels, we immediately sent them up to you. We are still not clear as to how or when you initially requested towels, and regret the frustration you suffered.

MORE Transparency:
We realized your disappointment at your empty pool on arrival (having come from a hotel which still has a fully functioning pool area) and genuinely regret not having giving you advance notification. We accept that our communications were not up to scratch in this regard.

We are currently on level 5 restrictions, which are quite severe with the City of Cape Town escalating this to level 6 in 2018. Quite a few hotels in Cape Town are implementing their own water saving measures. We elected to close our pools, which have the biggest impact on water saving efforts to assist our city in this time of crisis.

You will be pleased to learn that we have just installed in-apartment messaging regarding the critical water shortage, with suggestions as to how water can be responsibly used and saved. We have also updated our websites accordingly, with pop up messaging on the landing pages. It understandably came too late for you.

We are currently busy with the development of four more apartments, and are trying our best to manage this with minimal impact on our guests. The nature of our business allows us to conduct most of the construction work while our guests are generally out for the day. The work usually starts at 09h00 and ends by 16h30. The area where the construction is taking place is a fair distance from Redcliffe House, and is neatly covered with a graphically designed banner to minimize a negative visual impact from the street. Even though we have limited the noise to these hours while most of the guests are out, this does seem to have had an impact on you and I do apologise for this. I assure you though, no pneumatic drills are used on site.

MORE Quality:
I refer above to the point regarding Redcliffe House being fully refurbished, with the two aspects (basin and toilet seat) having been reported and attended to.

Our bedding is of a high quality 300 thread count, with duck down pillows – all brand new. I am therefore at a loss as to why you would feel furnishings and linen to be of a sub-par quality.

While we cannot get it right every time, please rest assured that each of the points you raised has been addressed and attended to. I hope you had a wonderful Cape Town experience, and that your time in South Africa surpassed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Alan Rose
General Manager, More Quarters Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 460 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 645 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 900 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 704 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R4 109 - R5 911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing