We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
More Quarters Hotel
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We enjoyed a pleasant stay at More Quarters, which we selected because of the location in the City Bowl and the self-catering options (and because we spent another part of our holiday at Madikwe Safari Lodge, which More also owns). Sadly, even though we booked 8 months in advance, we could not get a two-bedroom flat for our family of four, and so were in two one-bedroom flats across the street from one another. This worked out Ok b/c one of our "kids" is 25. Still, crossing between the two flats at night was not without its "issues," as I was accosted one night by a man asking for money. He was moderately threatening, and I stopped when he began to speak to me only because his shirt appeared to have the logo of the security guards who patrol the area. I walked away shaken, but unharmed. Facilities are very nice, kitchens well appointed with the basics. The staff are very well-intentioned and responsive but cooked breakfast can be slow and mistakes get made (ham in a vegetarian omelet, etc). Room service from DaVinci is subpar, but there are many good restaurants in the area, as well as a good grocery (though no fresh fish at Checkers, which is closest) and a pharmacy. Again, if you want what I think of as a real Cape Town experience, stay here, not on the Waterfront. Views of Lions Head, Table Mountain, Devil's Peak abound ... and Camps Bay, with its additional views and restaurants, is a short drive over Kloof Nek. We had a rental car, so did not use the transfer services; staff handled parking for us cheerfully and efficiently, at no fee.

Room Tip: Seek room on top floor of a bldg to avoid noise problems; Room 1 more natural light, larger living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sprout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jisca J, General Manager at More Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Thank you so much for the feedback on your stay at More Quarters.

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your family in a 2-bedroom Apartment. With only 3 of these units available, we are sadly not able to guarantee availability. The nature of the More Quarters environment is one of a village, with apartments flanking two cobbled streets in the heart of the Kloof Street district. While this is one of the elements of the More Quarters experience that usually appeals to our visitors, I can appreciate your frustration at having been separated from your children.

I was distressed to read of your upsetting nocturnal experience. We do our level best to ensure that our area is patrolled and secure, and the comfort and safety of our guests is of critical importance to us.

Regarding your less than perfect experience with our service/ kitchen team at breakfast, we have recently undertaken a week-long training programme with the MORE Group Consultant Chef. We will certainly see direct and immediate improvements as a result.

We will also be addressing the quality of the food on the menu at DaVincis, as many of our guests use them for order-in meals.

Please do visit us again when you are in the Cape!

With kind regards

Jisca Johansen
General Manager, More Quarters Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2015

Great location in Gardens, close to everything, quick access to N1 and N2, 4 minutes from Camps Bay.
Appartment was great, very cosy with all needed equipment. Breakfast excellent, no fresh juice. Staff is always there for you, very kind.
With our 2 years-old daughter we had the chance to have dinner outside without her thanks to amazing baby-sitters More Quarters found for us.
Overall our stay was very easy, no worries, this is due to the excellent service, the perfect lodging.
Highly recommandable

Room Tip: We had a quite "basic" appartment and it was already amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thierry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed at one of the one bedroom studios and loved it. Great location, top notch amenities, amazing breakfast and wonderful staff. Cozy street, close to lots of boutiques, shops and restaurants. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Turquoise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We had a wonderful stay at More Quarters. The location was great! A short walk to fabulous restaurants.
The staff did a great job setting out a wonderful breakfast buffet and then you order off of a breakfast menu. Delicious. The apartment had everything we needed an was clean and spacious. It had a tiny private patio out
of the bedroom french doors which looked inviting but we were out all day sight seeing so we didn't relax on it.
The only pitfall was construction going on late in the night on the building next door but with how much they were working on it the project should be completed by now! Loved our stay. We had the BEST guide in Brian from More.
He did an absolutely fantastic job of driving us all around the Cape and giving us an abundance of information. He was also an excellent driver. Andrea with More travel did a fantastic job arranging our Cape Town and Madikwe safari near Johannesburg.

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank julieandjim079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

More Quarters is a conveniently located small hotel located just off Kloof Street. The location is wonderful. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. I advised them before arrival that I needed distilled water for my CPAP, and there were 2 liters waiting in my room. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Not an overabundance of outlets in the bedroom or bathroom. The bath tub sits in the bedroom, not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 472 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 686 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 151 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2 447 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to More Quarters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about More Quarters Hotel

Address: 2 Nicol Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 3 694 - R 6 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — More Quarters Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining apartment living with the service and hospitality of a hotel makes this experience unique and ideal when visiting Cape Town. The location within Cape Town city bowl affords guests the ability to walk to both restaurants and boutique shops which are frequented by the locals, ensuring an experience where one becomes part of the city cosmopolitan way of life. The interior style of More Quarters Hotel is a subtle combination of “classic contemporary.” More Quarters is Owned and Managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your More Quarters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Quarters Hotel Cape Town Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing