We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Experience Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Table Mountain Walks

Table Mountain Walks
Ranked #4 of 324 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Table Mountain was recently adjudged one of the World's 7 Wonders of Nature. If you would like to be guided up Table Mountain, we can offer you a tour along several routes. The tour experience is all-inclusive, i.e. it includes a lunch, refreshments and return cableway ticket (or a walk down another route). Contact us to make a booking.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2014

I have been coming to South Africa two or three times a year for many years now and I will always try and find time to hike with Table Mountain Walks. The overall experience of hiking Table Mountain is something everyone should try and do in their lifetime it is simply amazing. I always hike with Table Mountain Walks both Margaret and Pietro know the walks and nature so well I can't recommend them highly enough. As long as you have a reasonable level of fitness the hike to the top is perfectly achievable and I have been with groups including people in their late 60s and even early 70s. This is a must do experience in Cape Town and there is no one better to go with than Table Mountain Walks

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    98
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly with a personal feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2014

As a small family unit we were initially going to walk alone, we had come to Cape Town to do this walk after my wife had completed the four peaks challenge in the UK. Family convinced us to get a guide. On very short notice, recommended by our hotel, Table Mountain Walks guided us up the iconic mountain. With varying capabilities, our guide Pietro ensured we all enjoyed the experience. Pietro was knowledgable and friendly, we did not feel anxious that our young child would annoy the rest of the childless group. We definitely recommend their services and will use them again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suttons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Platteklip Gorge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2014

After sending the initial email requesting information and advice,I received a prompt reply and a great deal of information about the walks available, and equipment and preparation required.Good communication continued once i arrived in Cape Town, and indeed as follow up when I had returned home
Pietro was an excellent guide, well informed and well prepared for the hike.He collected and returned me to my hotel, and was great company on the walk.As the Cable car was closed for annual maintenance he had to both up and down with me !Weather was not great on the day,overcast with low cloud, and I was given the option to cancel the walk, which I think was quite important, but I was determined to go ahead as my time in Cape Town was limited. I was so glad I did it. I would have no hesitation in recommending Table Mountain Walks to others.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service and amazing guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I initially intended to hike Table Mountain on my own and do my own thing but a friend convinced me to get a guide. After contacting a few different providers Table Mountain Walks had the best response and best customer service and managed to accommodate me at short notice. I was most impressed with the knowledge and experience of the guide and the demographic of our little group (3 young fit people so we were not slowed down waiting for others less able). I would definitely recommend these guys and use them again when I next pass through Cape Town. I am very glad to have used them as I don't think I would have enjoyed my hike on Table Mountain as much on my own. Thanks Margaret and Pietro for the memorable experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Buckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Skeleton Gorge - A very enjoyable walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

An excellent 5 hours, led by a friendly guide who went at a leisurely pace up through Skeleton Gorge across the Table and then to the cable car.

In an ideal world, I would have liked the pace across the top of the mountain to be a little higher, as our group was pretty young and fit. I also would have liked a little more detail on the flora and fauna on the top of the table, as we walked through it but little comment was made.

The gorge is the most interesting and challenging part of the walk - a good two hours almost straight uphill, from steps to ladders to 'climbing' up a waterfall. Very enjoyable

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lazboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Table Mountain Walks also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Table Mountain Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing