We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food service ....lets say it was Ok”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Africa

Mama Africa
Ranked #56 of 1 144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food service ....lets say it was Ok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was good, but service was really bad. Their excuse was that it was a Saturday night. We waited an hour and a half for our main course. We are very tolerant but the time we waited was ridiculous. Anyways, the place is nice and food ok, a pity the service was so bad.

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanskiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    583
    223
    96
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hyped!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place has great options for non vegetarian lovers but nothing for vegetarians..African music and vibes of this place were the only parts we loved about our visit!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank sonakshis518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Delicious! Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Such an amazing meal and experience at Mama Africa. Make reservations!!! This place is super popular and if you don't have a reservation you may not get in. We didn't have one but were able to sit at the bar since we got there early. The food was absolutely delicious and I would definitely recommend the bobotie, a traditional South African meal of baked spiced minced meat. So flavorful! It left me wanting more!

The live music is great and we thoroughly enjoyed it. They do add a charge on your bill for the music but it is minimal and well worth it.

Would highly recommend this restaurant to any visitor to Cape Town!

Visited April 2017
Helpful?
Thank chevaf8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical african cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to taste real African cuisine, you are right at Mama Africa. Nice staff and really good food. Taste the crocodile spit with a tasty peanut dip.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffi02041987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Turning into a 'bucket list' item....which is unfortunate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly, if there was a 3.5 star rating - I'd give it. If only for the springbok steak.
The reason this place loses out is that it has become a little to much like a safari version of McDonalds.
Location is great, the occasional live band helps the atmosphere, although nobody really seems to be paying attention. And if you want to be treated to novelty meats, then the menu promises much. But the 'go to' dish, the Mama Africa's Wild Game Mixed grill (a) has no price next to it on the menu and (b) turns up as single skewers, some solo pieces with a single baked potato.
The Warthog is dry (but that's pork for you), the Ostrich seemed slightly overdone and crocodile continues to taste like chicken!
The Thelma Mountain Red (mixed grape) went well with the meats. You do need something a little robust to deal with the food and add flavour.
The service was fine, not knockout. But mainly it was the atmosphere that was a let down. You wanted to be be somewhere a little 'edgy' not next to a table with 3 kids under 6 messing around!
This is one of the more expensive places you will eat in Cape Town. I would suggest that you consider other reviews of other places for similar fare.

  • Visited March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjivsach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama Africa also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Mama Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing