We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, welcoming & excellent attentive staff”
Review of Tom's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tom's Guest House
Ranked #22 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tom’a Guest house was an amazing place to stay especially as I was travelling alone. It really felt like staying at a good friend’s house ; laid-back but very attentive staff, clean, comfortable and the rooms were beautifully decorated and excellent location. Minutes from table mountain, trendy Kloof street and de Waal Park.
Excellent shopping centre just a 5 min walk away.
Gunther and Martin really are the hosts with the most :-)
I also felt completely secure and it was in a lovely, quiet, residential street . I would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor have more privacy but the whole guest house is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catriona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

If you go to Cape Town you Must go to Tom's guest house. Gunther and Martin are really nice they love what they do and they are always around you to see if you need something.
The house is a really beautiful , lovely decoration, the room are very spacious the bathroom just incredible and the breakfast is unbelievable
I had a pain on my back and I couldn't move by myself.
gunther find a friend naturopathe and he fixed my back and thank you so much because my vacation are just great now.
Gunther all my friends and I will thank you to be like you are.
We should stay more!!! May be one day we'll be back.
Antoine

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Toni Ucciso E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Cozy and well situated guest house close to the very city center. Nice rooms, excellent service, good breakfast, parking place directly in front of the door. However what counts most is the personal and extremely helpful care by the owners Günther and Martin. They really cared for us, gave us most valuable advice, what to do, what NOT to do, where and how to go etc. We especially enjoyed our conversations about Cape town, South Africa and all what counts in life with Günther!
We hope we will be able to come again and then we certainly will chose Tom's Guest house again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anette_Jens2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

It feels like arriving a in a safe harbor - cozy rooms, excellent service, owners that care and make your in Capetown more valuable.
Toms's Guesthouse is located perfectly for excursions to the table mountains, trips to the city, the beach and is surrounded by nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henrikevonwelck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We really felt at home at Tom's Guesthouse. Günter und Martin pampered us from the moment we made our booking. They came personally to pick us up from the airport, waited for hours in the middle of the night, as our plane was delayed, helped us organize our tours in the area, booked our rental car and drove us there to pick it up. They simply took care of everything thus all we had to do was to relax and enjoy.
The location of their guesthouse is central in a quiet street. The garden is cozy with a small sparkling pool. The rooms are nicely decorated with all amenities: We are definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_and_Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1 057 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#18 of 156 in Cape Town Central
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom's Guest House

Address: 44 Breda Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 161 - R 1 642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tom's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tom's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing