We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
31
46
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
46
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african decor quiet area company gardens conference room table mountain city sightseeing company's garden hop on hop off bus stop small hotel walking distance enjoyed my stay other guests minute walk ruth glas balcony continent
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Stayed here a few weeks ago. great location and price, good breakfast and right by good cafes for coffee, the staff were really friendly and helpful suggesting where to go and how to get there. the rooms were good and helped us with the water shortage rules. we did washing that cost 100nzd!!!!!!!! couldn't believe the price!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear nzanz,

Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. We are only as good as our last gig, as they say, and to hear each guest remark on being warmly welcomed and assisted makes us very happy. Thankfully, the rain has come and we are in a far better position with the water but we thank you for being considerate and aware of our crisis during your visit, and also that it did not keep you away from visiting us. Hopefully on your next visit you will find a greener and water rich Cape Town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This small hotel (15 rooms) is a gem. Located in the Gardens District on a square with two outdoor cafes. The neighborhood is safe and easily walkable to the Company Gardens, the Jewish Museum, the National Gallery, District 6 Museum and shops of Long Street. Also a few blocks away is the very modern Gardens shopping mall. Great place to get food or equipment for onward travels. Short taxi to V&A waterfront. The front terrace and some rooms have direct views of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. If you want a big tourist hotel there are plenty of those in CT, but for a more authentic experience as a base in Cape Town this is a great choice. There are suites for famililes, with balconies. Clean and comfortable without excess frills. No AC - just fans which are enough. No pool - those in other larger hotels are mostly closed now anyway due to water shortage. Decorated tastefully with African fabrics and carvings. Very helpful informed receptionists. A tranquil and professionally run hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Table Mt also face Dunkley Sq. Normally quiet but next door cafe noisy on Fri and Sat nights.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Laura F,

Thank you very much for comprehensive review. We delighted in that it really gives one a clear picture of the unique location we enjoy. As a city we are thankful that the rains, and even snow, have come and as a result our dams level are almost fully replenished. Thank you very much for being considerate of the water saving requests that we had and for not allowing it to detract from your holiday and the enjoyment of your stay with us. We are always happy to help and share the best of our beautiful city and are grateful that you found us helpful and professional. We hope you will come this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We love this small inn located on charming Dunkley Square, steps from the Company Gardens, museums and easy waking distance to downtown and Kloof street shops. Ikhaya Lodge is a great choice if you are looking for a small- scale, well- priced place to stay in Cape Town. The lodge has simple, comfortable rooms with South African touches. Our rooms had balconies looking toward Table Mountain. The staff is excellent and was genuinely responsive to our needs. There are a number of delicious restaurant choices just across from Ikhaya, and breakfast is served in the main room in morning. We look forward to a return to Ikhaya on our next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the square
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,
So lovely to read your review, thank you! It is especially gratifying when a return guest has another pleasurable stay with us and we are delighted to read your post. Thank you for adding the helpful hints to would be guests. We are very grateful for our quaint and vibey square that has adds to the experience of staying with us. We look forward to your return and wish you a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Stunning, awesome close-up views of Table Mountain and the most friendly, gracious and warm staff ever encountered in SA. Well done ! A little sprucing of rooms would help. Very close to key spots. You made our family & friends road trip memorable and affordable. Thank you. Will be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Mary

Wow! Thank you so much for giving us such a great review! Christmas is a special time for family and close friends and we are delighted that the time with us added to your joy of the season and also of being in Cape Town. Thank you for your helpful suggestion and pointer to potential guests. We hope that we see you again soon and wish you the very best for a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Nice neighborhood, nice rooms, a good value. The hotel is located on a square that has several restaurants and a jolly evening crowd. Breakfast includes eggs made to order and other South African standards. If the price is right, it is a nice choice. My favorite memory is of the front desk people offering lots of ideas on how best to get a gift home.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square may be quieter, my friend moved across the hall to reduce noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LZO_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Compliments of the season. We hope you're having a safe and enjoyable holiday season. Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and our unique location that not only offers stunning views of Table Mountain, but also quaint Dunkley Square and its lively vibe. We hope that your gifts arrived home safely. It's always such a delight to pass on those treasures to love ones.

We hope that if you return to Cape Town, you will find that our price is still right and that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best wishes,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews