We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ikhaya Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$134
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
27
44
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
44
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican decorcompany gardensnational galleryquiet areaconference roomtable mountaincity sightseeingcompany's gardensmall hotelwater shortagehop on hop off bus stopsafe parkinglong streethot breakfastwalking distanceperfect locationenjoyed my stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This small hotel (15 rooms) is a gem. Located in the Gardens District on a square with two outdoor cafes. The neighborhood is safe and easily walkable to the Company Gardens, the Jewish Museum, the National Gallery, District 6 Museum and shops of Long Street. Also a few blocks away is the very modern Gardens shopping mall. Great place to get food or equipment for onward travels. Short taxi to V&A waterfront. The front terrace and some rooms have direct views of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. If you want a big tourist hotel there are plenty of those in CT, but for a more authentic experience as a base in Cape Town this is a great choice. There are suites for famililes, with balconies. Clean and comfortable without excess frills. No AC - just fans which are enough. No pool - those in other larger hotels are mostly closed now anyway due to water shortage. Decorated tastefully with African fabrics and carvings. Very helpful informed receptionists. A tranquil and professionally run hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with views of Table Mt also face Dunkley Sq. Normally quiet but next door cafe noisy on Fri and Sat nights.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We love this small inn located on charming Dunkley Square, steps from the Company Gardens, museums and easy waking distance to downtown and Kloof street shops. Ikhaya Lodge is a great choice if you are looking for a small- scale, well- priced place to stay in Cape Town. The lodge has simple, comfortable rooms with South African touches. Our rooms had balconies looking toward Table Mountain. The staff is excellent and was genuinely responsive to our needs. There are a number of delicious restaurant choices just across from Ikhaya, and breakfast is served in the main room in morning. We look forward to a return to Ikhaya on our next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the square
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,
So lovely to read your review, thank you! It is especially gratifying when a return guest has another pleasurable stay with us and we are delighted to read your post. Thank you for adding the helpful hints to would be guests. We are very grateful for our quaint and vibey square that has adds to the experience of staying with us. We look forward to your return and wish you a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Stunning, awesome close-up views of Table Mountain and the most friendly, gracious and warm staff ever encountered in SA. Well done ! A little sprucing of rooms would help. Very close to key spots. You made our family & friends road trip memorable and affordable. Thank you. Will be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Mary

Wow! Thank you so much for giving us such a great review! Christmas is a special time for family and close friends and we are delighted that the time with us added to your joy of the season and also of being in Cape Town. Thank you for your helpful suggestion and pointer to potential guests. We hope that we see you again soon and wish you the very best for a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Nice neighborhood, nice rooms, a good value. The hotel is located on a square that has several restaurants and a jolly evening crowd. Breakfast includes eggs made to order and other South African standards. If the price is right, it is a nice choice. My favorite memory is of the front desk people offering lots of ideas on how best to get a gift home.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square may be quieter, my friend moved across the hall to reduce noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LZO_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Compliments of the season. We hope you're having a safe and enjoyable holiday season. Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and our unique location that not only offers stunning views of Table Mountain, but also quaint Dunkley Square and its lively vibe. We hope that your gifts arrived home safely. It's always such a delight to pass on those treasures to love ones.

We hope that if you return to Cape Town, you will find that our price is still right and that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best wishes,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

iKhaya Lodge has been on our radar because we love the location. Having to attend a 1 night function in Cape Town gave us the perfect excuse to book a room. On booking we requested a very quiet room. On checkin, we noticed that some painting and renovations were taking place, but thought nothing of it. We then tried to rest up, but painters clambered over our roof and shouted instructions to each other the entire afternoon. A ladder was placed right in front of our window to access the roof and workmen stood on a small landing staring in. A discussion with the gentleman at the front deck proved totally fruitless. We did have a good nights rest, but were abruptly woken the next morning by the very same ladder being erected in front of our window, accompanied by the same loud talking. Giving up on sleep, we dressed for breakfast, which was another disappointment. We understand hotels need to do maintenance, but should have been accommodated in a part of the lodge where this was not happening. Sadly our hunt for reasonable, yet great accommodation in Cape Town continues...

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank SandradeWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you were inconvenienced during out recent renovations. Every effort had been taken to brief the the building team on discretion and noise levels, and we apologize that this was not adhered to in a way that guarded against such occurrences.

We would humbly request that you consider another visit to us should you return to Cape Town.With the renovations now complete, we trust that you will enjoy another stay with us as has been the case with many of our valued guests.

In the meantime, we wish you a lovely holiday season and the very best for the coming New Year.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews