We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town Favorite”
Review of Ikhaya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ikhaya Lodge
Ranked #77 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We love this small inn located on charming Dunkley Square, steps from the Company Gardens, museums and easy waking distance to downtown and Kloof street shops. Ikhaya Lodge is a great choice if you are looking for a small- scale, well- priced place to stay in Cape Town. The lodge has simple, comfortable rooms with South African touches. Our rooms had balconies looking toward Table Mountain. The staff is excellent and was genuinely responsive to our needs. There are a number of delicious restaurant choices just across from Ikhaya, and breakfast is served in the main room in morning. We look forward to a return to Ikhaya on our next trip to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Guest,
So lovely to read your review, thank you! It is especially gratifying when a return guest has another pleasurable stay with us and we are delighted to read your post. Thank you for adding the helpful hints to would be guests. We are very grateful for our quaint and vibey square that has adds to the experience of staying with us. We look forward to your return and wish you a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Stunning, awesome close-up views of Table Mountain and the most friendly, gracious and warm staff ever encountered in SA. Well done ! A little sprucing of rooms would help. Very close to key spots. You made our family & friends road trip memorable and affordable. Thank you. Will be back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Mary

Wow! Thank you so much for giving us such a great review! Christmas is a special time for family and close friends and we are delighted that the time with us added to your joy of the season and also of being in Cape Town. Thank you for your helpful suggestion and pointer to potential guests. We hope that we see you again soon and wish you the very best for a prosperous 2018!

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Nice neighborhood, nice rooms, a good value. The hotel is located on a square that has several restaurants and a jolly evening crowd. Breakfast includes eggs made to order and other South African standards. If the price is right, it is a nice choice. My favorite memory is of the front desk people offering lots of ideas on how best to get a gift home.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square may be quieter, my friend moved across the hall to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LZO_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Compliments of the season. We hope you're having a safe and enjoyable holiday season. Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and our unique location that not only offers stunning views of Table Mountain, but also quaint Dunkley Square and its lively vibe. We hope that your gifts arrived home safely. It's always such a delight to pass on those treasures to love ones.

We hope that if you return to Cape Town, you will find that our price is still right and that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best wishes,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

iKhaya Lodge has been on our radar because we love the location. Having to attend a 1 night function in Cape Town gave us the perfect excuse to book a room. On booking we requested a very quiet room. On checkin, we noticed that some painting and renovations were taking place, but thought nothing of it. We then tried to rest up, but painters clambered over our roof and shouted instructions to each other the entire afternoon. A ladder was placed right in front of our window to access the roof and workmen stood on a small landing staring in. A discussion with the gentleman at the front deck proved totally fruitless. We did have a good nights rest, but were abruptly woken the next morning by the very same ladder being erected in front of our window, accompanied by the same loud talking. Giving up on sleep, we dressed for breakfast, which was another disappointment. We understand hotels need to do maintenance, but should have been accommodated in a part of the lodge where this was not happening. Sadly our hunt for reasonable, yet great accommodation in Cape Town continues...

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank SandradeWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry that you were inconvenienced during out recent renovations. Every effort had been taken to brief the the building team on discretion and noise levels, and we apologize that this was not adhered to in a way that guarded against such occurrences.

We would humbly request that you consider another visit to us should you return to Cape Town.With the renovations now complete, we trust that you will enjoy another stay with us as has been the case with many of our valued guests.

In the meantime, we wish you a lovely holiday season and the very best for the coming New Year.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

I felt warmly welcomed from the time I first set foot in Ikhaya Lodge, which is located in charming Dunkley Square, with a stunning view of Table Mountain. The Lodge is easily accessible from all the major sightseeing spots (I walked most everywhere), and conveniently across from three small restaurants, each with tasty fare.

The on-site team was friendly, super-helpful with my requests for information, and treated the other guests with a similar generous hospitality and courtesy. If you're fortunate to get recommendations from Ruth, follow her instructions for a wonderful experience!

True to its name and setting, the Lodge is thoughtfully appointed with African decor. My room was small and comfortable, with French doors leading to a balcony sitting porch. The room was equipped with basic amenities (extra blankets and pillows, kettle, safe, small fridge, iron) - all practical, nothing fancy or suited just to impress. Having arrived on a chilly day, I was afraid that the room would be too cold, but that was never the case. I was quite comfortable.

I really enjoyed my stay there and happy to wholeheartedly recommend Ikhaya Lodge as a "budget-friendly boutique" hotel. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oaktown B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Wow! What lovely feedback. We so enjoy having people stay with us and enjoy adding value to their visit to Cape Town. Your feedback is a great ad for iKhaya - thank you :-)! - and we would love to have you return. Please let us know when you do, so we can delight in welcoming you again!

Until then, we hope you're having a lovely holiday season and wish you everything of the best for the coming New Year!

Best wishes,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0,9 km away
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
Best Western Cape Suites Hotel
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
0,9 km away
Cape Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel
#75 of 112 in Cape Town Central
286 reviews
2,7 km away
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
#68 of 112 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,7 km away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#41 of 112 in Cape Town Central
612 reviews
0,7 km away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 112 in Cape Town Central
402 reviews
3,2 km away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#67 of 112 in Cape Town Central
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ikhaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ikhaya Lodge

Address: Wandel Street | Dunkley Square, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 965 - R 1 918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ikhaya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ikhaya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing