We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
31
46
12
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
46
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews african decor company gardens national gallery table mountain conference room city sightseeing company's garden small hotel quiet neighborhood hop on hop off bus stop water shortage long street walking distance enjoyed my stay other guests a great stay our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Ikhaya Lodge was nothing but awesome for us. It's perfect located near Companys Gardens in a quiet area of the vivid city of Cape Town. The rooms are nice and the bathroom was perfect for us. Very nice is the large wintergarden, I enjoyed it so much to work a little online with a glas of african wine in the evening. Nearly anything in Cape Town is close enaugh to walk and there is a parking lot in front of the lodge. But priceless are the persons running it! Ruth, Idah and the entire employees are extremely lovely and helpfull. We'll be back for a hiking hollyday again and we hope to get a room at Ikhaya Lodge again!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 746bjoern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you, so very much for taking the time to review us and to post such wonderful words! We're delighted that you so enjoyed being with us and that your visit to Cape Town was a memorable one.

We look forward to your next visit and to making your feel right at home again. Cape Town and all of us at iKhaya, look forward to seeing you!

Warm wishes,
Ruth,Idah and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in located in walking distance to much of central Cape Town then this is it. But there are always caveat. The place probably needs a do over, my room was small and the internet mediocre. The breakfast is OK, and they do offer expresso!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Fourfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We delighted that you share our sentiments regarding our wonderful location which has a quaint and yet vibey square with stunning views of Table Mountain to boot. Regarding the internet, we are excited about the laying down of fibre on our street and are currently investigating this option. We have noted your remarks about the our rooms and as always, will use this as an opportunity. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will send friends our way as we would be delighted to welcome them.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Overall: Charming lodge, and a great value for the money.
--The rooms: Clean and comfortable, no huge frills, but definitely charm. See the photos for the carved woodwork and the ceiling, which I thought were nice touches.
The staff: The front desk staff was always smiling and everybody, especially Ida, was particularly helpful. The breakfast staff tried to be helpful, but service was sometimes a bit lacking. It wasn’t uncommon to receive a coffee 15 minutes after it was ordered, and after the meal had arrived.
--The breakfast: Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A tasty selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, fruit, cereal, yogurt and beverages was available for the taking. Plus, there was a hot breakfast that could be ordered as well, consisting of mealie meal (not unlike Cream of Wheat, but made from corn) or some variation of a “traditional English breakfast” (eggs, “streaky bacon”, sautéed mushrooms).
The location: We love to walk, so the location for was perfect for us. Within a 5-10 minute walk are St. George’s Cathedral, Company’s Garden, the South African National Library, the Houses of Parliament, the National Gallery, Iziko Slave Lodge, Long Street and the District Six Museum. For the sights closer to the waterfront, such as the Robben Island tour and the V&A waterfront itself, the walk is significantly longer. We walked to the waterfront in about 45 minutes; if you prefer to drive or be driven, you can be at the waterfront in 10 minutes or less. If you are looking for a bite to eat, there are three restaurants right on the square (Roxy’s, Maria’s, and Vandair’s Durban Curry). Our Google printed directions from the airport to the lodge took us to Barnet Street, which is on the wrong side of Dunkley Square and provides no car access to the square or the lodge. Be sure you come in from Wandel Street, so you can get into the parking lot.
--Parking : We had a rental car that we used for excursions outside the city, and we loved that there was an attended parking lot adjacent to the lodge. Although the lot always seemed to be full, each time we needed a space we found a one right in front of the lodge.
--Other notes: The good news, if you like a late night bite and a beverage, is that Roxy’s Late Night is right across the square. The bad news, if you are a light sleeper, is that Roxy’s often has people eating and drinking outdoors until well past midnight. If you like to sleep with your balcony doors open for some fresh air, the noise from Roxy’s may keep you up. If you close the doors, the sound is somewhat diminished but still audible. For what it’s worth, the food and drink were really good the night we went, and the manager who served us was particularly attentive. I rated this hotel as "average" for noise because, although we did hear Roxy's at night (above average noise), we rarely ever heard any sounds of other guests in the lodge (below average noise).

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pope_Elvis_The_First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the comprehensive review you have taken the time to write. We value each guest experience and this provides a very balanced view. We are delighted that over all you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. Directions to iKhaya are also on our website as we know that GPS often lands our guests on the wrong Wandel Street. Thank you for the comments regarding service at breakfast. We have had trainee staff and this feedback is valuable in it's objectivity. It's great to know you found the breakfast wholesome and Idah is excited to know her attention to guests has not gone unnoticed. Thank you. We hope to welcome you or your friends again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I was more thank lucky to get a room at the Ikhaya Lodge last minute. The staff received me so warmheartedly that I immediately felt at home.
The rooms have a very special flair. I loved to sit in what we would call a winter garden, since the terrace could be closed with glas.
the location is perfect right on a square with different restaurants. then one street over are different high class museums in the Company Gardens. The park is a nice place to hang out. On Saturdays there is a market which sells all kinds of products of good quality.
important: you can walk around safely all the way over to market and Long street.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katharinapia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your generous review. It makes us happy to know you felt at home straightaway as this is one of our key objectives with everyone staying with us. We aim to give guests a feeling of safari whilst being in the heart of Cape Town and we hope you came away feeling this way. We also love the relaxing atmosphere of the Company Gardens and are glad that you mentioned it, as it is a lovely spot to relax or walk through. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Cape Town.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

I guess you get what you pay for, you could pay more to be more central, to have a swimming pool or to have bigger room so I cannot be harsh on this, quite basic hotel with small rooms and quite a distance from main town. But I got what I paid for with a smile which always helps.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank K254CFtimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guestrelations58, General Manager at Ikhaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you consider iKhaya to be good value for money and that with a smile too :-) ! This is one of our key pillars in what is often considered a very expensive city to visit. We have an ideal location and our safari feel in the heart of the city provides a unique feel. We hope that as you left with a smile, that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again or your recommendations.

Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews