We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed service tonight!”
Review of Haiku

Haiku
Ranked #116 of 1 233 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grills and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.DescriptionThe Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grill and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.The restaurant interior features a state-of-the-art open kitchen where diners can watch food being artfully prepared by a group of talented, professional chefs. The restaurant exudes trendy sophistication, with walls and floors of beautifully polished granite.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We have been many times to this restaurant always been very happy with the food, service and ambiance. However tonight not quite sure what happened, waited for a long time for menus and service. Eventually a waiter came rushed and trying chasing the bill up and little impatient. Although the restaurant was half empty didn’t see the rush why everything was so slow, probably short of staff for a half empty reataurant? Interesting...
We asked for a specific dish didn’t know quite what we mend and brought the wrong one tasteless! Basically everything went wrong, ask several times to fill up our glasses, to remove our dirty dishes, look for attention no waiter in sight. Unpleasant experience won’t be back but very quick with the bill funny and predictable!

Thank sylviane v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2018

Hello Sylviane,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to standard. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Kindly send us an email to feedback@Bukhara.com.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Haiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been dying to try this restaurant for months, and it did NOT disappoint. The vibe is akin to sexy, ‘down town’ sushi restaurants in London. The dim sum was absolutely phenomenal though! Better than we’ve had in London. Great service! We will definitely be back

Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2018

Hi there Cara,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it and hope to have you visit us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Haiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Overall brilliant.
The starters: prawn toast, bau and the salmon belly were all stars in their own right! Leaving us wanting more, and when we had mains it was not a disappointment. Epic food. Authentic flavors. Well done. We will be back.

1  Thank Eli U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 May 2018

Hi there Eli,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed an authentic Asian experience with us.

We hope to have you visit us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Haiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

After not being here for a couple of years it was awesome to see the standards have not dropped. The place needs a little TLC but the food is still divine! Sushi tuna crunch hand roll, salmon sashimi, dim sum, hot sour soup, sizzling beef, Peking duck out of this world! Great duck bao... all delicious. Only let down (and minus a star) was the lack of our choice of red wine 3 out of 3 selected but our waiter went out of his way to accommodate by obtaining from Bukhara.

Thank ErikaMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Hi Erika,

Thank you for sending your constructive feedback of our Haiku CPT. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and our service.

We do hope to serve you again, soon.

Kind regards,
Haiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We have been going to Haiku since it opened, some 13 years ago or thereabouts. Service and friendliness of staff are excellent. The food is sublime. The decor of the restaurant is a bit tired, a face lift would be welcome, but in the end what counts is what you have on your plate and without exception it is still the best in town.

Thank inner-beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear Valued Customer,,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and providing us with constructive feedback. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed it.

We hope to have you visit us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Haiku

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haiku also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Haiku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing