We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
200
89
13
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
89
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotellovely little hotelwithin walking distancerooms are spacious and cleanminute walkfriendly hotelpool areaquiet neighborhoodsuperior roomthoroughly enjoyed our stayperfect staymini barsmall poolsafe areafresh fruitbreakfast was excellentspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2016

I had one night left in Cape Town, and I found this place on a whim. Only 8 guestrooms, and a nice little pool out back in a private courtyard. A great place to meet with a few friends for some drinks around the pool, a braii, and some banter. Rooms are small, but very well updated and well configured. Beats the complication of staying at a 'mega' hotel in the area down the street. Would go back if and when I make it back to the Cape Town area.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Hotel is lovely and rooms are spacious and clean. The rain shower was amazing and big and beds very comfortable. The pool was lovely to cool off in and as it's a small hotel and during the week we had it to ourselves. Outdoor jacuzzi was awesome. Hotel is in a good location not far from V&A Waterfront and city centre. Staff were friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank debbiej302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear debbiej302,

Thank you for your most wonderful comments about the hotel and everyone here is thrilled that you had such a good experience with us.

We hope to see you next time you visit our beautiful city of Cape Town.

Warmest Regards

Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This hotel is ideally situated for seeing Cape Town. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Waterfront is only a short taxi ride away. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank barberic2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear barberic2016,

We thank you for the taking the time to write us such lovely comments, it was a real pleaure taking care of you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother City and to The One 8 Hotel.

Kind Regards

Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The hotel is well kept, clean and comfortable and in a great location. It is quite quiet but that is mostly due to its size and number of occupants. The waiting staff and cleaners were great and very friendly.

I think we were slightly duped by on a taxi fare ordered through the hotel reception, I investigated later from the same taxi firm and there was quite a discrepancy in rates which has left a slightly bitter taste. Also the shower water pressure was a bit low but that might be because we were on the top floor.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pathfinder634617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
y996d, Manager at The One 8 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are thrilled that you were extremely pleased with your stay at The One Hotel. I will definitely pass your comments to the rest of the team who I'm sure will be as pleased as I was to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We take your comments about the taxi fare very seriously and we wold like to assure you that we do not receive commissions or paybacks from any taxi journeys booked for guests. To that end we have investigated the matter with the taxi company concerned and procedures have now been put in place to ensure that no guest is overcharged.

I would also like to add that the taxi company we use was chosen very carefully because of its punctuality, neatness and reliability compared to others.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to The One 8 Hotel when you are in our beautiful city again.

Warmest Regards

Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in the one 8 hotel, and it was very good/excellent.
Very friendly and serviceminded staff, nice (small) pool area, within walking distance from both Waterfront and Long Street, wonderful room with terrasse.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank soeren_beicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews