We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Daddy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$133
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$790
US$751
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cape Diamond Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$148
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
174
145
41
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
145
41
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrailer parkrooftop barlong streetgold rushair streamcool hotelsuperior roomincluded breakfaststayed here for two nightsboutique hotelstayed longerhop on hopmother citycentral locationsouth africaairstreamcaravan
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here between Christmas and left New Years Day. Cape Town is so busy in this period it’s not funny so be prepared.

The hotel itself is very modern, with cool interior design, clean rooms, comfy beds, and good wifi. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome and safe on our stay. They were always available to ask a question or help us with directions/ restaurants ideas etc.

The street it is on, Long street, has some interesting characters but it adds to the experience.

No reservations in recommending thins place.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wafer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Wafer25,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Rooftop bar with campers as rooms. Very original. Friendly service. Food and wine are food. Atmosphere unbelievable. We didn't stay in the hotel. We spoke other people who stay in the hotel and they were enthusiastic.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Boudewijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Boudewijn M,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Daddy!

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a friend and seeing the very positive reviews here. The hotel is central on busy Long Street but rooms are still very quiet. You can walk to quite a few touristy sites in the city centre and there's great shopping for African curios nearby on Long Street. I was ok walking around the local area. The rooms aren't huge but are immaculate and really comfortable. The decor is really unique and I loved it! They have airstream trailers on the roof, which would definitely be a fun option. Breakfast is a la carte and very generous. The staff at just lovely. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear ChrisL75,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Apparently this is one of the oldest hotels in the city. Not that you would know it when you walked in. The hotel has a hip vibe to it; during the time that we were there other tourists were constantly stopping in to take photos. We stayed (one night) in the Safari trailer. I would highly recommend it if you are the type to avoid a cookie cutter experience. The trailers are parked with camp chairs just outside, and make up part of the rooftop bar. If you are concerned about noise, don't be. The bar closes at 9 pm (even on a Friday) and while you might hear people outside its way less noisy than staying in a regular hotel. These are Airstreams, you don't have neighbors. Space is a bit tight (these are Airstreams!) but compared to a hotel in Europe... You might however have an issue with space if you are taller than say 6'2".
In terms of neighborhood, we were only there for one night. The immediate area doesn't seem to have much; it's a very downtown feel. But it is walkable to the Waterfront, and there are restaurants and bars nearby. Highly recommended for a different type of Capetown stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jolielaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear jolielaide,

Thank you for your super review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay on the rooftop, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We kept well away from the waterhole so the animals would not be disturbed from their vital activity of taking on water. We didn't have any tents so we didn't have to worry about scorpions or snakes.
This hotel has STYLE. The external appearance would be Edwardian as is the mahogany lined lift.
Once on the rooftop there are crowds of young people in the oasis.
Some of the party don't take alcohol, so the staff made up cocktails without alcohol. The cocktails are served in jam jars- STYLISH.
There is something very likable about this place.

Unfortunately peace was dissolved when a thunder storm hit- and we all had to flee!

Room Tip: We did not stay in a room - but if we did we would have been in a rooftop caravan.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Vincent D,

Thank you for your super review, we are looking forward to welcoming you back for more delicious cocktails.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews