We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good stay, Airstream trailers little overpriced”
Review of Grand Daddy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Daddy Hotel
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Came across this place when searching for something unique to do in Cape Town. Decided to spend the $$ and book an "airstream penthouse" as they looked very cool on the internet.
Arrival and check in was very easy and very welcoming with a smile, a helping hand and a welcome drink. The bellboy was great in helping us with luggage as the old (character filled) lift only takes you to the last floor and then there's a flight of stairs to the rooftop.
The hotel itself is so full of character and history without feeling old or rundown. The rooftop bar has a great atmosphere, just wish we utilized it more, especially considering our airstream trailer 'room' was right by it.
The trailer was such a great idea and a unique way to stay. It was decked out in a way that gave you a spacious feel, but don't take too big suitcases so you have more room. They have used space well in these being a trailers and they really give a cosy feeling. Everything about it was on point, the linen was fresh and amazing, the toiletries were top quality, the fridge, charging points, lights ect, all fabulous but the trailer itself may have seen better days. Just the small things like some parts of the wallpaper (which is meant to be the star) is stained or peeling and the door not sealing too well. I think in their prime these trailers would be worth the price, and they are still a cool option, but you are really paying for the novelty.
The option of outdoor movies is really cool on the rooftop but surprisingly the trailer was very quiet and we didn't know that was happening outside. Wifi is non-existent in the trailer so had to go down to the lobby to use, which is fine in the big comfy chairs.
Don't order the pancakes at breakfast, they were presented well but weren't very good, all glugy and doughy. Resturant itself is trendy, pricepoint is what you would expect for a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Airstream trailers are a novelty, fun & quirky but a little run down. Perhaps book a room and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAgentStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear TravelAgentStacey,

That you for your review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful hotel, I will definitely address the comment about the breakfast pancakes and the décor.

We have changed internet suppliers and Wifi is now available again on the rooftop.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here between Christmas and left New Years Day. Cape Town is so busy in this period it’s not funny so be prepared.

The hotel itself is very modern, with cool interior design, clean rooms, comfy beds, and good wifi. The hotel staff made us feel very welcome and safe on our stay. They were always available to ask a question or help us with directions/ restaurants ideas etc.

The street it is on, Long street, has some interesting characters but it adds to the experience.

No reservations in recommending thins place.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wafer25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Wafer25,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Rooftop bar with campers as rooms. Very original. Friendly service. Food and wine are food. Atmosphere unbelievable. We didn't stay in the hotel. We spoke other people who stay in the hotel and they were enthusiastic.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Boudewijn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Boudewijn M,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back to the Grand Daddy!

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a friend and seeing the very positive reviews here. The hotel is central on busy Long Street but rooms are still very quiet. You can walk to quite a few touristy sites in the city centre and there's great shopping for African curios nearby on Long Street. I was ok walking around the local area. The rooms aren't huge but are immaculate and really comfortable. The decor is really unique and I loved it! They have airstream trailers on the roof, which would definitely be a fun option. Breakfast is a la carte and very generous. The staff at just lovely. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear ChrisL75,

Thank you for your super review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Apparently this is one of the oldest hotels in the city. Not that you would know it when you walked in. The hotel has a hip vibe to it; during the time that we were there other tourists were constantly stopping in to take photos. We stayed (one night) in the Safari trailer. I would highly recommend it if you are the type to avoid a cookie cutter experience. The trailers are parked with camp chairs just outside, and make up part of the rooftop bar. If you are concerned about noise, don't be. The bar closes at 9 pm (even on a Friday) and while you might hear people outside its way less noisy than staying in a regular hotel. These are Airstreams, you don't have neighbors. Space is a bit tight (these are Airstreams!) but compared to a hotel in Europe... You might however have an issue with space if you are taller than say 6'2".
In terms of neighborhood, we were only there for one night. The immediate area doesn't seem to have much; it's a very downtown feel. But it is walkable to the Waterfront, and there are restaurants and bars nearby. Highly recommended for a different type of Capetown stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jolielaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda38CT, General Manager at Grand Daddy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear jolielaide,

Thank you for your super review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay on the rooftop, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Brenda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
125 reviews
Strand Tower Hotel
#55 of 112 in Cape Town Central
716 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#37 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#49 of 112 in Cape Town Central
424 reviews
De Waterkant Village
#103 of 112 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Daddy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Daddy Hotel

Address: 38 Long Street | Western Cape, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range: R 1 830 - R 3 416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Daddy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Daddy is a luxury four-star city hotel with an effervescent, creative soul. Generous, warm and welcoming; The Grand Daddy’s passion is for people. The Grand Daddy’s big talking point is its ‘penthouse’ trailer park, where a collection of vintage Airstream caravans nestle beneath the backdrop of Table Mountain. Each of the 7 two-sleeper trailer suites have been conceptualized and designed by local artists and makes for an accommodation destination like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Daddy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing