We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top dining experience.”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Ranked #9 of 1 186 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 120 - R 350
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Miller's Thumb is an iconic long-standing restaurant in Cape Town specialising in fish & seafood-inspired dishes. It's bustling, cozy and filled with quirky character. Enjoy the freshest fish, straight off the boat and into our kitchen, cooked to perfection in a multitude of creative ways.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Great restaurant. The owner is the chef, his wife manages front of house. What a team. The menu is mostly on a huge wall chalk board and the options are clearly explained by Mrs Chef. This a real hands-on establishment. The wait staff are excellent. Good humoured and efficient. The food is brilliant. Fish is the main deal here but there are, of course, meat and veggie options. We both had fish, which was superbly cooked. It was a delightful evening. It’s well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2 301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 2 301 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

We had not even booked, but were treated like queens.
The food, the wine, the artistic way Jane presents it all made us feel so welcome. Fantastic different flavours to match the fish....or meat. We will surely be back. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Maritfryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

One of the best seafood restaurants in Cape Town. Fresh and flavorful. The muscles were excellent to start, and Kingklip perfectly prepared with several choices of style. The curry was also excellent. Good wine list and all the wines can be ordered by the glass or bottle. Excellent service. Just nothing not to love.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank sethckal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Always a highlight of visiting Cape Town from the UK. Quite simply the best fish restaurant I’ve been to. Friendly and they remember you.

I try out fish new to me on each visit, ably guided by recommendations from Jane and expertly cooked by Solly.

Miss it at your peril.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank 236DavidE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2023

Recommended by a friend and did not disappoint. Warm and friendly welcome - and no problem we were 30min earlier arriving than our reservation. Looked after all evening by the lovely Heather. We shared the mussels in wine sauce and the calamari Cajun style as starters, followed by Kingklip in both Malay and Moroccan style and shared Pecan pie and Mississippi Mud Pie. All beautifully cooked and well presented. A joyous eating experience. With the generous GBP to SAR exchange rate it was great value too. A place to eat in Cape Town!

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank andyhY909UE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.