We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant evening”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Ranked #9 of 1 169 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: R 120 - R 350
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Description: Miller's Thumb is an iconic long-standing restaurant in Cape Town specialising in fish & seafood-inspired dishes. It's bustling, cozy and filled with quirky character. Enjoy the freshest fish, straight off the boat and into our kitchen, cooked to perfection in a multitude of creative ways.
Reviewed 27 November 2023

My first visit to Cape Town. I was surprised by the ambiance in the area around the restaurant. Wine bars, other restaurants, tables outside, altogether a very friendly and convivial atmosphere.
Same for the Miller's Thumb, nothing pretentious, good fish, well cooked and excellent service from the young staff
Simple but effective
My thanks

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stillworkingat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2 299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 2 299 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

Very friendly place with a varied fish menu, from simple grilled fish to a variety of styles and flavours.
The local fish, Kingpin and Kob were both excellent with the kingpin getting the vote.

Reasonable prices and helpful staff, en enjoyable visit for us.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank meriwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

Really difficult to book but we eventually managed to via WhatsApp. Friendly welcome and the menu was well explained. Starters weren’t great. Calamari that was dosed in so much chili it was unpleasant to eat. A salad with giant hunks of sun dried tomatoes which was completely overpowering.
The fish mains - Marlin & Kinkiip were delicious and cooked so well but the sides were miserable. Chips, rice or veg. The veg was soaked in soy sauce which overpowering the delicate fish.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank AWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023 via mobile

Delicious seafood and fish. We shared a starter of the most tender calamari. It could be cut with a fork. Our entrees were the prawns and Kingklip, both done with olive oil and lemon. The veggies were perfect and the chips were crisp.
Tastes of wine were offered before our wine decisions were made and our server alloted a small break for us between our starter and entrees arriving.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

Wow how wonderful to return to Cape Town and have another amazing meal at Millers Thumb, Jane is always so welcoming and makes you feel like you are seeing an old friend and always brings the menu to life. The calamari to start was perfect as was the Kingklip and Yellow Tail, I had the Kingklip Malay style it was outstanding, the yellow tail was done with wasabi dressing and it was so hard to decide which was best, topped off with chocolate mud pie and bottle of sparkling wine. It was so good we returned for a second night. The whole team are so friendly and relaxed. I love this place and it’s first on the list to book, Thank you Jane & Sol for more special memories.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank annettet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.