We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Ranked #5 of 1 099 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Reviewed 30 October 2020 via mobile

Chads birthday feast of note! This is what we ate: Starters: Greek mussels, garlic bruschetta and chilli calamari.
Mains: Cajun angel fish, seafood pasta, rump bordelaise, Cajun prawns with remoulade sauce and dirty rice... salad with green goddess dressing.
Dessert: chocolate pecan nut pie, cheesecake and blue cheese ice cream with poached pears.

Best meal ever, it was an insane evening hosted by the most awesome Jane and Chef Solly❤️❤️Best seafood restaraunt in Cape Town. Thank you Miller's Thumb Restaurant

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 881seanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2 201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 2 201 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2020

I have not been to Millers Thumb for about 12 years and what a great surprise still excellent food excellent service great ambience but maybe a little pricey. As I was not paying wasn't my problem We all had starters and everyone raved about them I had the cajun rump it was superb the other 3 people had fish and they raved at the kob, dorado and yellow tail. We had a very nice bottle white wine recommended by the waitress.Defintely will go back was very impressed!! Thank you and Well done to management and staff

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2020

The fun and funky atmosphere is laid back and casual. The speciality here is fish which is perfectly cooked and tastes as fresh as can be. Prices are on the high-end of the moderate range and you can taste the quality in every bite. South African food can be hearty and heavy but dinner here leaves you feeling light but still highly satisfied. Service is excellent and the manageress clearly runs a tight ship. Make sure you book ahead; this place is very popular.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CurbedEnthusiasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2020

We had two meals here during our stay in Cape Town and both were excellent. On the first night there was a mix up with our booking but Jane managed to find us a good table after a little wait. The food is very good, a huge choice of fish cooked different ways. I had the Mozambique curry which was fantastic. The service is very good and staff are friendly and obliging. Jane has her finger firmly on the pulse and no doubt this contributes to a smoothly run and lively restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank furze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2020 via mobile

Excellent find. Friendly staff, very nice food, excellent flavours. Perfect portions. Not too big. Enjoyed the chicken liver starter, then the seafood jambalaya was absolutely fabulous. Thank you.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank Amanda_JLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.