We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Ranked #5 of 1 100 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Good value. Fish was very good and prices reasonable. Service is excellent though you might need to slow them down! Used by locals so busy and slightly noisy though that adds to the atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank 644barriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2 201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 157 - 1 161 of 2 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2014

Relaxed atmosphere, informative, friendly staff. Food is above the average when it comes to taste buds. Clever interesting preparations

Date of visit: July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lemmurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The ambience, the service, the quality and the taste of the food, the choices on the menu, the wine...everything worked in harmony. This is one of the best restaurants in Cape Town, and if you want to experience a brilliant fish dish, well then I can only recommend Miller's Thumb. Left feeling grateful and completely satisfied.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

An extensive fish menu with a lot of different sauces . They also have meat on the menu although we only ate fish. A relaxing venue but it is a good idea to book first.

Date of visit: August 2014
Thank TopshamExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The bed and breakfast we stayed at, referred us to this little gem. The restaurant was full and we had no reservations. We were whisked off to the bar, had a drink and were then seated shortly afterwards. The food is amazing. Best calamari I have eaten in a long time. The interior is quirky and there's a real vibe about this place. Lots of tourists. What really impressed me though was the staff and owner. They had a fabulous list of specials. They knew their menu backwards and along with superb food delivered the most wonderful customer service. Wine list was good too. Our 5 year old daughter was also accommodated with a meal that wasn't even on the menu. So flexible and efficient. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back again.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.