We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply brilliant”
Review of Miller's Thumb

Miller's Thumb
Ranked #3 of 1 146 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply brilliant”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The ambience, the service, the quality and the taste of the food, the choices on the menu, the wine...everything worked in harmony. This is one of the best restaurants in Cape Town, and if you want to experience a brilliant fish dish, well then I can only recommend Miller's Thumb. Left feeling grateful and completely satisfied.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    348
    91
    27
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Many ways to cook fish”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

An extensive fish menu with a lot of different sauces . They also have meat on the menu although we only ate fish. A relaxing venue but it is a good idea to book first.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TopshamExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Owner run business”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The bed and breakfast we stayed at, referred us to this little gem. The restaurant was full and we had no reservations. We were whisked off to the bar, had a drink and were then seated shortly afterwards. The food is amazing. Best calamari I have eaten in a long time. The interior is quirky and there's a real vibe about this place. Lots of tourists. What really impressed me though was the staff and owner. They had a fabulous list of specials. They knew their menu backwards and along with superb food delivered the most wonderful customer service. Wine list was good too. Our 5 year old daughter was also accommodated with a meal that wasn't even on the menu. So flexible and efficient. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Passion behind their food”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant this evening and were welcomed despite having no reservation. Immediately felt at home in this relaxed,non pretentious gem on kloof, which is a rarity nowadays. The owner and waitresses were so down to earth and watching them bustle away around the extremely busy restaurant was an awesome site. Despite being busy they smiled as they worked, calls from the chef in the kitchen, that of a confident chef who loves his job and the food he puts out. Was so great to feel their passion for their restaurant. And their food- probably one of the most delicious meals I've had in a while, with homemade olive tapenade served with fresh ciabatta, followed by delicious aromatic flavours from the Malay style dorado ending off with a decadent mississippi mudpie.Love their take on seafood!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellybellyjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a great dinner at Miller's Thumb. The seafood was fresh and well prepared.The restaurant has a fun atmosphere. Would highly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank OLCT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller's Thumb also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Miller's Thumb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing