We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Sunset if you get a window table”

Blowfish Restaurant
Ranked #233 of 1 299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renowned for picturesque views of Table Bay and Table Mountain. Blowfish is a fine seafood restaurant ensuring that you enjoy sensational dining. Our famous fish counter allows you to make a selection from an array of fresh seafood and customise your order according to weight. Come enjoy seafood, sushi, atmosphere and views.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

This was recommended to us and what a find.You need to book, especially if you want a window table. Have been twice. Food and service are exceptional. Be aware portions are large.I over faced my self first time shared a starter then had the Thai Prawn curry which was divine but had to leave half as was stuffed.my husband same with Chicken curry. Staff are more than happy to box up left overs. Second time chose fish from the fish counter they cut portion to order and cook as you want and you choose sides. A friend had risotto that was fabulous but again had to leave due to portion size. Staff are attentive and friendly and reasonable price for an up market restaurant. We were staying at Milnerton but only a 15 minutes drive. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank HelenL397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear Helen,

We're so happy you had an amazing experience dining with us! Reviews like yours are why we love what we do.

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Best,
Blowfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

My first time visiting on lunch date with my fiance. Ordered the oyster special which includes a glass of bubbly. Oysters took 30 min to arrive, minus the bubbly which arrived 10min later by the time our oysters where all but finished. On top of that the restaurant was almost empty..such a pity as it really is a beautiful place.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank marcgH9047ZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear Marc,

We're sorry that your experience with us was anything less than spectacular. We pride ourselves on customer satisfaction so we take complaints very seriously. Rest assured, your complaint has been escalated to the chef for review. As for the ambience, Blowfish does experience higher volumes of people for dinner than lunch! We hope we can welcome you back again soon to make up for your experience.

Best,
Blowfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Booked a table as we were guests at the Dolphin Beach Hotel, was given a table in the Hotel breakfast room which was where actually ate breakfast that day in a hot room away from the main restaurant, very hot and air conditioning clearly not working. No subtle lighting and atmosphere.

Asked to be moved to another table as my view was of the hotel lobby and a breakfast toaster, I walked around the restaurant asking why I couldn’t be moved to various vacant tables to be told that they were pre- booked but nobody ever did come to these tables again in the evening.

I insisted that we got moved. Had to wait for a empty table to be cleaned and then be maid up. Waitress was rude and disinterested and sloppy, food was average and not inspiring. Despite being guests at the adjacent hotel and advertising 10% discount for us and telling the waitress, she still didn’t give it.

Poor service average food. Don’t bother wasting your time here. I only had to walk 20 steps from my room to come here, it’s 20 steps I won’t be making again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank bswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear bswest,

We're extremely sorry to hear that you had anything less than a stellar experience. We aim to ensure all our guests leave completely satisfied, so we take these sort of reviews very seriously. Can you please provide us with your email address so that we can escalate this complaint and follow up with you.

Best,
Blowfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Their steak was lovely which i ordered roomservice for dinner. But breakfast was just boring. They should charge separately, not bed and breakfast. Waiters were so angry and bored.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 1159Mih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear 1159Mih,

We're so happy you enjoyed your steak! We also recently updated our breakfast menu, to a breakfast your way style. We hope you will come back and experience the new menu!

Best,
Blowfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

If 2018 is based on our experience at BlowFish there are gooooood things coming our way !

Visited this establishment before numerous times and was NEVER disappointed.

Great seafood, great views, great service and good winelist !

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Coetzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 April 2018

Dear Coetzers,

What a lovely review! Thank you for such kind words. We hope you have a very special year. We can't wait to continue welcoming you back.

Best,
Blowfish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blowfish Restaurant also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Table View, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Blowfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing