We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”

Blowfish Restaurant
Ranked #242 of 1 207 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Renowned for picturesque views of Table Bay and Table Mountain. Blowfish is a fine seafood restaurant ensuring that you enjoy sensational dining. Our famous fish counter allows you to make a selection from an array of fresh seafood and customise your order according to weight. Come enjoy seafood, sushi, atmosphere and views.
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I can't comment on anything else really, but the sushi is terrific! A little on the pricey side, but then again for the service and setting you would expect to pay a little more. Very nice,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MandyMcD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hi Mandy

Thank you very much for the amazing review.

We are elated you had a good experience with us and we try our best to keep our prices as low as possible in relation to the market That being said, I hope that you tried our Mountain Top Nouveau sushi roll - it's my favourite!

We look forward to welcoming you back soonest,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2016

My experience of poor service and expensive food and water, 2 years ago and my recent lunch time experience mirror the inconsistency expressed by other reviewers. This restaurant comes recommended but service is slow or at lunch time, non existent. We were shown to our table with no follow up at all and walked out after we failed to draw any staff attention.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Consistencyexpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Black and white sushi with salmon and avo was lovely. Also Vietnamese Massa with calamari a must. Wine very expensive is only drawback

Thank PamBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Hi Pam

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.

5* reviews put smiles on all our faces and we will be sure to commend the chefs on making your experience a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back soonest.

Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

The views in this restaurant are nice, but please be warned. Go here if you just want the view and to drink. The fish and chips was the worst meal i have ever had. I am not sure what crumbs they use for the fish but you almost had to crack your teeth to bit into it. The salad we ordered was nice but that was it. We could have had better fish ad Ocean Basket.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yuggibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Public Relations Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Good afternoon

Many thanks for the feedback.

We do our hake with a corn flake batter and we will certainly investigate what could have caused your meal to be 'extra' crunchy as it is unusual feedback regarding this dish - we do apologise that it was not to your liking.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I often take clients here as it has a great atmosphere. Right next to the beach so you can enjoy a meal while watching the kite surfers doing their thing. They have a fresh seafood counter so you can choose your preferred cut and have it prepared the way you like. The waiters are well trained and very attentive. If there's one minor issue, it's the parking. Very few bays in front and the beach parking is often filled with kite surfers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KelvinPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle D, Marketing Manager at Blowfish Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hi Kelvin

Many thanks for the review.

It really does put a smile on our faces to receive such fantastic feedback - thank you.
Kite surfing is becoming more and more popular, and we will see what we can do to accommodate our guests more should the reserved Blowfish parking be taken up.

Thanks once again - we look forward to welcoming you back soonest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blowfish Restaurant also viewed

Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 
Table View, Cape Town
 

Been to Blowfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing