We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ambience food and service!”
Review of Si Cantina Sociale

Si Cantina Sociale
Ranked #53 of 1 194 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: R 55 - R 914
Description: When it comes to food, we adopt a “farm-to-table” approach - organic where possible, made with sustainable and locally sourced ingredients and wherever possible, freshly made in-house. When it comes to drinks, our cocktail and drinks selection will turn Si into your local watering hole; vibrant, colourful and oh so good! The setting? Boldly nested under the watchful eye of the architectural Silo masterpiece, our rustic chic interiors, living wall murals and homely decor ensure plenty of character and vibe. Awaken your senses to the gentle south Atlantic sea breeze…but don’t take our word for it, pop in and live it for yourself!
Restaurant details
Description: When it comes to food, we adopt a “farm-to-table” approach - organic where possible, made with sustainable and locally sourced ingredients and wherever possible, freshly made in-house. When it comes to drinks, our cocktail and drinks selection will turn Si into your local watering hole; vibrant, colourful and oh so good! The setting? Boldly nested under the watchful eye of the architectural Silo masterpiece, our rustic chic interiors, living wall murals and homely decor ensure plenty of character and vibe. Awaken your senses to the gentle south Atlantic sea breeze…but don’t take our word for it, pop in and live it for yourself!
Reviewed 22 October 2020

What a lovely discovery! Third time I have been here in the last three weeks. I will definitely be back again and again. The menu has something for everyone, also great vegetarian options. I love that I can mix and match, a bit of this and a bit of that. My odd requests didn’t phase the staff one bit. The food is really lovely and flavourful. One always feels welcome and prices are very reasonable! Thank you Si! 😊👍

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Artielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurfixG, General Manager at Si Cantina Sociale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Artielady, thank you so much for the five-star love! We really appreciate the feedback and your loyalty. When are we si-ing you again?
The Si Squad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2020

Visited Si Cantina for dinner and drinks and was NOT impressed. The service, food and drinks was poor.

Ordered a cocktail and when it arrived it was a sugary mess. Asked for the drinks menu again only to realize they left out key ingredients. They ended up bringing missing stuff from cocktail in a tumbler to the table and I had to mix with spoon. Shocking.

Ordered nachos and chicken tacos for dinner. Nachos was decent, but chicken tacos were terrible. They add a "beetroot hash" that fills up the entire taco and then add the extra ingredients on top of that. It basically becomes like a poke bowl and you have to eat this starchy hash before you can even start closing the taco.

Ordered some other food which the waiter forgot but at that stage just resigned ourselves to leave. I think this place tries to compete in the food delivery space (read: Uber Eats) as a result of Covid and lower tourist numbers sitting down for a meal, but the result is a seriously poor dining experience.

Would not come back.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurfixG, General Manager at Si Cantina Sociale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear 873johant, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your experience is one that we are not proud of and, as you may see from other reviews quite atypical. We pride ourselves on listening to our guests and have addressed this with our team. I would like to invite you again to the store so we can give you a proper Si eating experience. info@sicantinasociale.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2020

Unfortunately we did not have enough time to enjoy this excellent restaurant. As we were on the run we only ordered salads and a seafood pizza. The waiter and the kitchen staff provided a great service, as all dishes were served to the minute. The salads were excellent in taste, very fresh and crisp and absolutely enough for a lunch. The pizza was also very good. Next time we will certainly plan more time and try other delicious dishes. Also the bar looks very inviting. Recommendable!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Monty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurfixG, General Manager at Si Cantina Sociale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2020

Monty S, thank you so much for the five-star love! We really appreciate the feedback and your loyalty. When are we si-ing you again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Chewing gums under our table. Oily and wet table. 5 different waiters at our table. Both of our meals were tasteless. Sorry but never again.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 583adame
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurfixG, General Manager at Si Cantina Sociale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Adam E! Thank you for taking the time to review us. We pride ourselves on amazing food and clearly we did not live up to that expectation. I will be conducting an investigation into the issue and will personally ensure that this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020

A group of friends decided to order some tapas boards instead of individual meals , wow the food was amazing! Tammy the manager was superb . All round a great experience.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JasonStevens1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BurfixG, General Manager at Si Cantina Sociale, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2020

Jason! Thank you for the 5-star love. Positive reviews like this will always encourage us to do more and more to make our customers happy at Si Cantina Sociale. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Si Cantina Sociale also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Si Cantina Sociale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.