We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome seafood platter special”
Review of Ginja

Ginja
Ranked #35 of 1 193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Restaurant details
Description: Ginja caters to guests of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel as well as other patrons. A stone’s throw from the water’s edge in the heart of the V&A Waterfront, the restaurant exudes a wonderful atmosphere, enhanced by its contemporary interior and superb views of Table Mountain. The menu comprises a wide selection of dishes, inspired by various cuisine styles, to satisfy all palates, a true reflection of the chef’s talent. The spectacular setting encourages guests to savour the moment to the fullest, whether they are enjoying a cup of coffee and cake with colleagues, a meal with family, or a sundowner with friends. Native Espresso Bar, within the restaurant, further offers a sensational coffee fix and on-the-go baguettes for breakfast or lunch.
Reviewed 26 December 2019

My wife and I enjoyed probably the best seafood platter we've ever had, at Ginja last week. We eat out often and generally, when you stay at a hotel, you don't eat in-house,especially if you're at the Waterfront, as you have such a wide variety to choose from. However, Ginja is much, much more than a hotel restaurant. It rivals any stand alone a la carte restaurant at the Waterfront. The duck spring roll starter was insane too!!!
Service was world class and the beer on tap selection was perfect.
Well done TEAM GINJA

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank mikewiggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GinjaRestaurant, General Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2019

Dear valued guest.
Thank you for the amazing feedback of Ginja's offerings. We have been working very hard to be recognized as an independent Waterfront restaurant. Ginja's motto is: "Service is E-motion!"
We are extremely grateful for all the business we consistently receive from the hotel and at the same time we have been working hard to be acknowledged as a free standing restaurant. We cannot thank you enough for praising us on achieving this very difficult task. We hope you will not be a stranger and let us know about your future visits.
Kind regards
Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 216 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Great views. Ideal seating arrangement for alfresco dining. Delicious & fresh seafood. Excellent service from Junior!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank PJPAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GinjaRestaurant, General Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2019

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and review of Ginja fare and FOH staff. Junior is really one of Ginja's stars. We will share your experience with all our staff FOH & kitchen, where the magic happens.
Regards
Heinz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

Great spot on the water. Tasing menu was very good. Our waiter Junior was very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank larissahayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Dear larissahayley

Thank you for taking the time to write us a five star review, we do appreciate it.
I am sure that Junior will be excited to hear that he was mentioned in yet another five star review.
Our tasting menu has 22 dishes that you can choose from, so please do join us again to try the other delicious tasting dishes on offer.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

Great setting,good food, large portion for an all day breakfast. Tasty food. Good value. Such a shame we had to wait 25 minutes to get the bill, there seemed to be total confusion among the staff.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jands18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Dear jands 18

On behalf of Ginja, I apologise for any inconvenience caused. We will strive to do better in this regard.
Thank you for also mentioning the positives, we really do appreciate that.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Great service, very accommodating staff. Large variety of food options that is sure to satisfy everyone. Fresh ingredients and comfortable environment.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank pluto1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GinjaRestaurant, Manager at Ginja, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2019

Dear Pluto

We are pleased that we have left such a positive impression with regards to the service and the food that you received. this is what we want for all our guests.
Please do join us again soon.

Kind regards
Chad Elario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginja also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ginja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.