We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, average hard rock experience”

Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town
Ranked #336 of 1 243 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$0 - US$2
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Restaurant details
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Reviewed 7 March 2018

This was probably the least impressive Hard Rock Cafe experience i have had in the world. Its in a great location though parking is difficult. Use the parking garage within the shopping complex - decent rates. 5 of us were seated at a table for 4 upstairs despite other tables being available. Sever was friendly but quickly informed us they have sold out of souvenir pint and shot glasses after day 11 - they have been open 3 months! Music was loud and decor so so. 3 large screens on walls of bar - 2 of which were showing sport. They were unable to give us our bill properly as 2 of the drinks had been sent to the till downstairs instead of upstairs and they couldn't work out how to sort it?? Think they have some teething problems they need to sort out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Good day SDP40, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your experience at the cafe did not live up to your expectations. Our Rock Shop is very popular and we try to keep up with demand as best we can. We apologize for the confusion with regards to your bill, we have spoken to the management team and are looking at the best way to resolve this. Our guest experience is very important to us, we will be contacting you directly shortly in regard to your visit. Thank you once again for taking the time to write to us and we do hope that you will visit us again in the future for a better time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Just left having a fantastic meal my husband said he had one of the best burgers he’s had in ages, I had steak and it was cooked just how I like it, our waiter was friendly and attentive, fabulous atmosphere.

Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Kim,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking time to write a review about your great experience on your recent visit. We hope to see you soon again Rocking our floor. Have a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Good: location on ‘the strip’ right across from the beach, although the actual sunset is somewhat blocked by the trees.

Bad. Music and atmosphere. There was 0 atmosphere in here during any time we walked passed or entered. This also applies for the music. We walked passed or paid visit must by nearly 15+ times and the only ‘rock music’ was the same Ed Sheeran song then we were slapped across the face with Gangnam Style. Loud. We left. So did others. Never ever heard one rock song of any substance during our day 10 day in camps bay. Shame.

Ugly: The food. Oh dear. I think the salt pot must of dropped off into mine and my wife’s dishes. That was the only flavour in chicken, ribs and pulled pork. It was disgusting. We never complained, we’re English we don’t, so we ate half of it during Gangnam Style, then left (again) kicking ourselves (again)

This place has the potential, it has the location, it has the staff but something needs to change drastically to be in comparison to the other HRC’s franchises. Shame.

Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Good day Rob, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the experience that you had at the cafe. We try to deliver a good quality product as well as experience and we failed to so for you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location. We cater for every music genre both old and contemporary but we have spoken to our management team and we are in the process of creating wider varieties of music playlists. We are so sorry for the food product that was delivered to you. We have raised this with the kitchen management and we are looking at how to solve this. We apologize once again that this was your time with us and we do hope that you will give us another chance again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

This was my first visit to a Hard Rock Cafe ever and probably my last. I did not expect much as I knew this was an American "cuisine" restaurant but I was expecting an average to above average burger. However not one but all the burgers ordered at our table were overcooked and dry. The food was poorly presented and did not look appetising. The french fries were more crystallised cooking oil than potato.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good day Johannes, thank you for your feedback. We have already contacted you directly about your visit with us but we would like to again say how sorry we are that this was the experience that you had with us. Our guest experience is very important to us and we are sorry that we failed to deliver to to you a great with us. We have raised these concerns with the management team and we will be investigating this matter further. We do hope that this will not be your lasting impression of the cafe and that you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

A newly opened eatery across the road from the beach very nice view good food ,attentive staff,varied menu food was good huge portions and desserts large.Very reasonably priced would visit again

Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good day Steve L, thank you for your 5* review! Your rock! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the restaurant and that you found our team to be attentive and the food to your liking. We will definitely share your kind words with the team and we cannot wait to have you visit us again. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing