We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Bad and Ugly. ”

Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town
Ranked #366 of 1 233 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Restaurant details
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Good: location on ‘the strip’ right across from the beach, although the actual sunset is somewhat blocked by the trees.

Bad. Music and atmosphere. There was 0 atmosphere in here during any time we walked passed or entered. This also applies for the music. We walked passed or paid visit must by nearly 15+ times and the only ‘rock music’ was the same Ed Sheeran song then we were slapped across the face with Gangnam Style. Loud. We left. So did others. Never ever heard one rock song of any substance during our day 10 day in camps bay. Shame.

Ugly: The food. Oh dear. I think the salt pot must of dropped off into mine and my wife’s dishes. That was the only flavour in chicken, ribs and pulled pork. It was disgusting. We never complained, we’re English we don’t, so we ate half of it during Gangnam Style, then left (again) kicking ourselves (again)

This place has the potential, it has the location, it has the staff but something needs to change drastically to be in comparison to the other HRC’s franchises. Shame.

Thank Roy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Good day Rob, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the experience that you had at the cafe. We try to deliver a good quality product as well as experience and we failed to so for you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location. We cater for every music genre both old and contemporary but we have spoken to our management team and we are in the process of creating wider varieties of music playlists. We are so sorry for the food product that was delivered to you. We have raised this with the kitchen management and we are looking at how to solve this. We apologize once again that this was your time with us and we do hope that you will give us another chance again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018

This was my first visit to a Hard Rock Cafe ever and probably my last. I did not expect much as I knew this was an American "cuisine" restaurant but I was expecting an average to above average burger. However not one but all the burgers ordered at our table were overcooked and dry. The food was poorly presented and did not look appetising. The french fries were more crystallised cooking oil than potato.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good day Johannes, thank you for your feedback. We have already contacted you directly about your visit with us but we would like to again say how sorry we are that this was the experience that you had with us. Our guest experience is very important to us and we are sorry that we failed to deliver to to you a great with us. We have raised these concerns with the management team and we will be investigating this matter further. We do hope that this will not be your lasting impression of the cafe and that you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

A newly opened eatery across the road from the beach very nice view good food ,attentive staff,varied menu food was good huge portions and desserts large.Very reasonably priced would visit again

Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Good day Steve L, thank you for your 5* review! Your rock! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the restaurant and that you found our team to be attentive and the food to your liking. We will definitely share your kind words with the team and we cannot wait to have you visit us again. Thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

After a very busy day we didn't want to travel far and were craving a burger and fries so headed to the Hard Rock Cafe.

Sadly the burger didn't taste particularly fresh or hot. It was very dry and the quality didn't impress.

My wife also had a different burger and was equally disappointed. The staff were friendly and quick.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Good day Sean O, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We try to deliver a quality product and we failed to do so for you. We have raised this concern with the management team and we are looking into the best way to rectify this with the kitchen. We are glad to hear that the staff were friendly. Thank you once again for writing to us as your feedback is very important and we do hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

My wife and I popped in for a late lunch/early dinner for our first day staying in Camps Bay. We're both vegetarian and after checking out the various seafood filled menus at nearby restaurants we decided to give this a go as we saw a few good options for us.

Our waitress was excellent and friendly. The food was actually very tasty, We had the spring rolls and cauliflower burger. No room for dessert but they looked great.

Loads of great memorabilia on the walls as you'd expect. Our only gripes were that electronic dance music was being played for some reason and when I looked in the shop to buy a souvenir for my brother, they only had size Small in the best Tshirt.

Thank Dane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Good day Dane, thank you for your 4* review! We are so glad to hear that you found our vegetarian options to be suitable to your needs and that the staff were friendly. We try to deliver a quality service and product to our guests. Hard Rock Cafe caters for all types of music genres including both modern and rock music for all types of guests. We have playlists with a wide assortment of different styles. We are so sorry that you were not able to find a size. The merchandise is extremely popular in Camps Bay and we have been trying to keep ahead of demand for items. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in Cape Town and that you do visit us again, maybe to try some dessert this time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;