We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT impressive”

Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town
Ranked #293 of 1 257 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Restaurant details
Description: NOW serving Breakfast! Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Reviewed 8 January 2018

While The Hard Rock is an International Franchise, we still have to deal with the South African logic when it comes to Management!!
2 of the 7 White Wines were "Sold Out" - this on a Saturday at 18h00 during the first week of January!!
We ordered Burgers, (The Hard Rock - what else!!) and one portion of Onion Rings, which are on the menu.
Burgers arrived in 5 minutes of placing the order, impressive or maybe just too quick? No Onion Rings, after asking the friendly Waitron, who went to check if he placed the order on the computer, then went downstairs to the kitchen, only to return to say they too were "Sold Out" and sorry not available.
Hence, why have a menu with 3 items (that we tried to order/ they may have been more) that are not available?
Leaves a bad taste I think!
Will not be back in a hurry!
Good luck to the owners, hope the landlord has insurance!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeoffC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Good day GeoffC5, thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We try to have deliver a service that is of high quality and we failed to do so for you. We have raised these concerns with management and we are looking at the best way to rectify this situation as a team. We hope that this will not be lasting impression that you have of the cafe and we hope that you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Being avid travelers, we often eat at the Hard Rock Cafe in whichever city we are in. Sadly our home restaurant gave us the worst service experience. We were greeted by a friendly front of house hostess and taken to our table upstairs to enjoy the beautiful view of Camps Bay.

After a few minutes, our waiter came to hand out our menus, introduce himself - Simba - and take our drinks order. He seemed quite curt - for a waitron. He then took our orders - he made a mental note - no written order. He repeated it back to us and we corrected him, and off he went to place our orders - and that was the last we saw of him!

Our starters came - a kg of peri peri wings - which was good. Then once done - no one came to clean our table or to check if everything was ok. There were 3/4 waiters hanging around chatting.

Then came our mains - and our dirty starter dishes and empty glasses were still on our table! So we cleaned it up and handed them to the waiters who brought our mains and only took the dirty dishes handed to them. We then had to ask another waiter for drinks - which didn’t come after 10m - we were 2m from the bar! It was a bottle of still water and a Mai Tai. Apparently she couldn’t punch in the order - our waiter had to and she didn’t know where he had gone to!

At this point our exasperation was visible. We asked for the bill and told the waitress who had supposedly placed our second drinks order to cancel it - at which point she brought the bottled water! Still no sign of Simba!

I then went downstairs and the waitress asked if I would like to speak to the Manager. Bob came over and introduced himself. I related our less than satisfactory experience to him and he apologized for our terrible service- which cost R1050! So it wasn’t a cheap lunch - this was for 4 drinks, 2 portions of wings, a portion of ribs, chicken fajita and a burger.

He mentioned that the reason there were no managers on the floor upstairs is that they were having a management meeting.
The upstairs was busy - and there were at least 4 waiters just standing around and it’s not a very big space upstairs- yet none of the waiters took the initiative to call a manager or solve the issue themselves.

I wasn’t very happy with Bob’s handling of the matter- but for the sake of the brand - I hope that they give their staff training on customer service.

Safe to say I won’t be going back.

Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Good day Vanessa N, thank you for your feedback. We are deeply saddened to hear that this was the experience that you had with us. We try to deliver Amplified Service in every regard and we failed to do so for you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review to us so that we are able to address these issues with the management team. I have also raised your concerns with our general manager and we are looking into the best possible solutions in order for this not to happen again. Please can you send us an email at smm@hrccapetown.com so that we can investigate this matter further. We will definitely be carrying out more training with our team to ensure that the guest has the best possible time with us. We do not want this experience to be the lasting impression that you have of the restaurant and do hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We dropped in as a family of 4 and had a great late lunch. The staff were very friendly... the food all good and as expected from a hard rock.

We had a mixture of burgers, ribs and mac and cheese....which was just what we needed after hours on the beach.

Great service and would return!

Thank Edinburghtwoplusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Good day Edinburghtwoplusone, you rock! Thank you for your 4* review. We are overjoyed that you found the food serving what you would expect from a Hard Rock and that you were met with good service. We will continue to deliver a satisfactory product and improve in areas where we need to. We cannot wait for your return :)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Chilled, relaxed atmosphere.

Positives:
Great location- lively and busy
Right across the road from the beach
They play nice music- a bit of everything
They have a shop that sells merchandise
Mac and cheese with chicken was delicious
Friendly service

Negatives:
Had to call or go look for our waiter the whole evening
Beggars in front of the restaurant asking for money/ food

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nadia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear nadia v, thank you for your 4* review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and that you found the Twisted Mac and cheese delicious. We are sorry for the fact that you had to find your server. We have spoken to the management team and are looking at the best ways in order to rectify this with the whole team. We cannot wait to have you at the cafe again, definitely to try the Oreo cheesecake ;) until then, keep rocking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Great service. Good food and what a great view! On both our visits we were met with fast and friendly service. We didn't explore the menu much but the wings and deep friend cauliflower was tasty, fresh with just the right spiciness

1  Thank Vacation705243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Good day, thank you so much for your 4* review! We are so pleased that you received great service and that you enjoyed the wings and the deep fried cauliflower, that is one of our favourites :) We will continue to improve our offering and deliver to you a quality product. Hope to see you at the cafe again soon to take in some more of the view!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing