We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll, I don't know....the sign outside said HARD ROCK CAFE.”

Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town
Ranked #378 of 1 185 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Description: Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Restaurant details
Description: Live it up on Beach Road Camps Bay and sample the local flavor at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town. We’re serving up our world-famous menu items like our Local Legendary® Burger all day, every day! There’s no better place to unwind than at our café, where you can sip hand-crafted drinks with the famous Table Mountain and Lions Head Beach as the backdrop. With 550 square meters and a double-story deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, we’re the best spot to bring your friends, order a drink, and take in the 190-degree mountain and ocean views.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I went there on Saturday night at around 8 o'clock. Firstly, I expected to be standing in a queue for 30 minutes or more to get in but no such thing, seated immediately in a more than half empty restaurant. This wad followed by a general confusion about whether corkage was charged or not, it turned out it isn't...good marks there. We then ordered the fillet, well what was presented was NOT fillet and it was grey and it was cold it was served with broccoli, ghastly! We'll to everyone's credit it went back without fuss, I replaced it with a special burger which was neither special nor tasty, as a previous guest remarked, the bun came from PnP. At no time was there a person who appeared to be charge, you guys can take the tourists who will flock to your restaurant for a ride but you won't survive a Cape Town winter!

Thank Neville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Neville, thank you for your review. We are deeply saddened that your experience at the cafe was not to the standard that you expected. We have brought all the concerns that you have raised to the attention of management and are dealing with them accordingly. We serve scratch-based products and high quality ingredients. We hope that you will give us second chance to deliver a truly memorable Hard Rock experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I think this is one of nicest spots to have pre-drinks. Lovely balcony area upstairs and down stairs to watch the sunset. Great staff, and everyone loves a Little Rock n Roll in the back ground.

Thank CapeTownChickBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day CapeTownChickBlog, thank you so much for your 5* review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your drink and also the views of the sunset. Camps Bay beach is one of the great places to watch sunsets. We cannot wait for your next visit and to grab a bite to eat too. Until then, stay rocking!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While I can't say the food was awful...It also wasn't fabulous. Plus I have an issue when what I'm given doesn't match the menu description. The burger was meant to be served in a brioche roll....Well what I got was effectively a PicknPay burger roll. Brioche is destictly yellow in colour, with a lovely buttery texture...Which this bun was not!
The milkshakes and cocktails were amazing.

Thank Cecile J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeSA, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Cecile, Thank you for your 3* review. We glad that you enjoyed the milkshakes and the cocktails. We apologize for the food not being up to the standard that you expected it to be. We try to ensure the highest quality of ingredients are used and your concerns have been raised with the management team in order to ensure that we do deliver quality products. We hope that you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and visit the cafe again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After months of waiting for the opening we jumped at the opportunity to visit within the first 48 hours of trading. Had wonderful seating on the the balcony upstairs with a good view of Camps Bay beach. We ordered our favorite legendary burgers with some cocktails. Food was of the same standard of various previously visited outlets in Italy and Germany. Only disappointment was the fact that the menu showed illustrations of "jam jars" but drinks came in normal sized glasses and price charged was for the "jam jar" size as advertised...

Thank mcp19752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeJHB, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi MCP,

Thank you for your 5* rating.

We're glad you were just as excited about our opening as we were. It's good to hear you had a great time with us. We apologize for the jam jar confusion, we will investigate this matter to ensure it does not happen again.

We look forward to many more visits from you!
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful new place with rock memorabilia all over and the well known high standard great food and drinks. Located close to the beach at Camps bay famous for it's amazing sunsets.

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardRockCafeJHB, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paul, thank you for your 5* star review. We are so glad that you liked the way the cafe looked as well as the rock memorabilia on our walls. We do maintain high standards for our food, all scratch-based meals. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing